Sort:  

You could try putting sudo in front but that does seem odd. This guide is a bit old now, if you are looking for an easier method I believe there is a PPA for Ubuntu that has ARM support https://launchpad.net/~gridcoin/+archive/ubuntu/gridcoin-stable

sudo in front worked!

Got further but now got an error when performing this command

sudo mkdir ~/Gridcoin-Research/src/obj && cd ~/Gridcoin-Research/src && chmod 755 leveldb/build_detect_platform && make -f makefile.unix

This is what it gave me

alert.cpp:273:1: fatal error: opening dependency file obj/alert.d: Permission denied
}
^
compilation terminated.
makefile.unix:173: recipe for target 'obj/alert.o' failed
make: *** [obj/alert.o] Error 1

I've looked into the launchpad method too but I'm unable to run the

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gridcoin/gridcoin-stable

I get this error

sudo: add-apt-repository: command not found

This is on a Raspberry Pi 3 running Raspbian.

You will need to flash your SD card with Ubuntu for the launchpad to work I think, I never used it myself.

Re the error, Im not sure whats causing you to get a permission denied, all I can think of is trying:
'sudo mkdir ~/Gridcoin-Research/src/obj && cd ~/Gridcoin-Research/src && chmod 755 leveldb/build_detect_platform && sudo make -f makefile.unix' but if that doesnt work Im not sure how to resolve, sorry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67724.53
ETH 2606.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72