You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gridcoin 4.0-2018 General Roadmap Poll - Receiving Earned Research Rewards

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Thanks for all the hard work!

I think it's wise to bring in as much expertise as possible. Manual ERR Claims sounds great to me, but is there any way we could have a professional do a security audit of this (and other proposals)?

Alternatively, if a well-established coin already implements a given mechanism, then that should count as provisional evidence for its security.

Sort:  

I agree that any development should be audited. This process needs to be discussed and described by devs. Regarding this and other roadmap polls, there is little or no code to implement for anything yet. These are more the culmination of months of discussions that will put the ideas onto a roadmap for 2018.

Once the ideas are developed fully, I'm sure there will be an auditing process.

Yeah, of course we have a development team who I'm sure is aware of the need to do security checks. So I don't want to sound like I'm belittling them. On the other hand, I think a third-party audit may be well worth the investment.

Anyways, I just wanted to make sure that factor was already in people's minds and we weren't rushing into things. For now, yeah, it makes sense to focus on getting a roadmap together!

If you want, you can have a look on the technical specification and express your thoughts. Your contributions are welcome! There is no bounty for it yet, but I am sure it can be arranged. The spec is currently more scattered than I would like, on tasks repository, the Original read-map article and github wikis

Just saw your comment now! My apologies. I will take a look if I can find the time. My expertise is not in the field of IT or computer science, but I do have a technical background so maybe I could still find a way to contribute.

Steemit is already a great example of a blockchain that does manual rewards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61042.80
ETH 2605.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65