You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: All this time of gateways closed have me feeling that this project is dying.

in #gridcoin6 years ago

Slack/telegram are where more of the 'insider' discussions are happening about things like network stability. (I put 'insider' in quotes because it's an open community and there's nothing to hide ... just steemit/reddit aren't the best places for informal discussions about behind-the-scenes stuff.) As far as I know, devs on working hard on improving network stability, although perhaps one of the devs could speak here for themselves.

Sort:  

But the only people using slack in the real world are nerds. I'm not saying this in a mean way, it's just... why would you use slack over discord unless you are explicitly doing professional work/coding?

Slack feels the same as discord to me. Same idea, same features (except voice). Both are proprietary, moreover slack is deleting our history. Slack is nowhere targeted at nerds, remember IRC. Write wherever you want, but the people that would answer you, might not be there. The amount of incompatible apps like those Pisses me off.

deleting messages is not the only difference between slack and discord managing things is much easier on discord then it is on slack (at least from my previous experience) Discord is more of a social media (for gamers) then Slack but slack has some dev features over discord (altho they're adding some of those on discord too)

Isn't slack like a clone of discord?

Discord came after AFAIK but it has more features overall.

I guess I haven't reached "full enlightenment" yet lol. I'll get there eventually. Last summer I was only using Reddit, and have been moving up from there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95