You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gridcoin Guide For Odroid (running BOINC)

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Changing hostname is imperative for solo crunching as well..Took me about a month to figure that out! All five odroids running smoothly now though. A guide like this will help people get set up much easier. There was A LOT of googling for me, but I learned a good bit.

edit: http://www.rechenkraft.net/yoyo//hosts_user.php?userid=279173 im dumb you can link hosts, odroid1 with zero credit is the day odroid1,2,3,4retur... started crunching

Sort:  

That's great. Are they running ubuntu minimal? I had some problems with my odroid in the past and switched over to arch last weekend to see if my problems will continue.

Umm, I think its a full version of Ubuntu.. I had zero experience with linux or SoC type things prior to buying the odroids, but Ubuntu 16.04 (MATE desktop?) with kernel 4.xx is what they are using.

I am interested in trying arch linux on one of them. It is essentially manual mode linux yeah?

I am Cornholio! (Whoa! Hm heh... that was cool) I need T.P. for my bunghole! Come out with your pants down!

Thanks for that Beavis!

You could call it manual mode linux, yes :D
I am planning a second part for this guide where I will describe how I set up arch and will add information about performance and profitability of the odroid :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50