You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gridcoin Research 4.0 Proposals and Preliminary Polls

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

I've never been prouder of the GRC community, awesome job guys.

  1. I fully support continuing to explore I've never been prouder of the GRC community, awesome job guys.

  2. I fully support continuing to explore DWP

  3. I like where we are headed with proposal two - I have been an annoying voice with @erkan on securing the network.

  4. The manual rewards claim is interesting and hasn't been something we were talking about in the summer during IRC. I like the superblock pay, but I would like to learn more about what the size limit situation is - what are pros/cons. I still don't really understand the beacon mint deal so I'm going to have to read more into the github articles.

  5. N/A

  6. What private information? Is it just e-mails? If so, that's not a huge deal and not something I would be in favor of pursuing; our e-mails are already available through BOINC - we all know that. Explain more about why moving to a new block-chain is necessary. The fact-base is missing in this proposal if it is about security and private information. Cleaning up the codebase is one thing, moving to a new blockchain is something different. We've seen how we have struggled as a community over the summer to solve the superblock issue, we don't want to introduce more instability with something that isn't adding anything.

  7. Reducing memory and blockchain space are things I support. Far more important than a new UI/GUI.

Where is @erkan and @neuralminer on all this? And what are Rob's thoughts?

Sort:  

We need to update the codebase because it is from 2014. While doing that, we will remove the personal information from the blockchain which yes, is just e-mails.

Again, to me the blockchain itself and the code base are different things. And, why must we update the code base - I understand there are positive aspects to doing so - but it's probably not best to justify it by saying it's from 2014...are all things from 2014 logically bad? No, of course not. So let's build a compelling base. I admit, I need to do some more reading on the situation myself....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75