Gridcoin Advice Needed (wallet not syncing) and some questions

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Hello Gridcoin community!
I wrote about this problem more than a week ago, and thanks everyone who responded and suggested what to do, but nothing helped.
I thought to wait to the next wallet update, but who knows when it will be.. and also I'm not sure it will help.
I already "lost" (I hope they will arrive) few GRCs from running BOINC and few from staking.
But I could wait or forget about this for some time, but I would like to use Gridcoin, I might need it any moment if somebody would like to accept GRC from me or pay to me. I.e. I rarely visit this Altocoinstalk forum but today I found that I created thread there about buying GRC and somebody might be interested.

Another option is to run GRC wallet on PC, but I have balance on Mac, I don't know if I will be able to transfer it...
And one more question:

Somebody ran GRC wallet on hosting server? May be AWS? I think I might get one of these and then I can setup there Windows version of wallet.
Thanks!

Sort:  

Since 3.7.7.0 came out I have not had 1 payment processed and my wallet is running and staking 24/7 and I watch every day go in and out of sync , although a machine right next to it is on the same block and in sync. Literally all of my 5 windows nodes do this , I have not paid attention to the linux nodes as I have been deathly ill. I think something is buggy and posts like this get people like me to say " ok its not just me and my setup " seeing that someone else is having the same or similar issues. On another note , you have 6 months to open your wallet and could literally not open it or have it running for 179 days and start the client and sync blocks and get paid for that work. So you really have nothing to worry about , I hope this post gets others whom are having this issue speak up so we get our wonderful and talented devs and leadership to fix the issue on their testing of 7.5.5.0. Gridcoin is still buggy as hell , especially after Rob just handed the keys to a community dev team vs just him doing all the work, fixes , updates and changes etc. I am used to staking daily , although I am getting paid from the faucets and constantly am staking its been over a week and this has only happened two times in the last year and a half and we had fork issues then and second was an error on the dev teams part. Also , per AWS thats a good idea run windows vs Linux seeing as that helps by adding more Neural Network clients as Linux is just a block server/wallet and lacks the Neural Network still. Heck its 1 year free , so not like it hurts your pocket and there are very inexpensive VPS providers like buyvm $4 KVM vps and run windows there vs something that in 1 year you will ditch because its not free any more. Crissic is another great company along with gigebox , some others in the community and confirm that as I refereed them to those company's since digital ocean is over priced for the services provided and the only one mentioned the the .us gridcoin website.

Thank you for good and informative post. I hope Gridcoin developers will fix this issue...

I already "lost" (I hope they will arrive) few GRCs from running BOINC and few from staking.

As long as you have an active beacon no GRC are lost, oven if you are not on the main fork.

Thanks! That's what I thought that I will receive it when wallet will start to sync...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74