You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pentathlon challenge - Day 4 (May 5-19)

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

here are some hints by TG13088:

For Cosmology, the "paying" tasks in descending order are Classic, Planck and finally Docker.

Classic is long (11 hrs on i7's) but "pays 125+ credits per.

Planck is about 15 minutes and pays 50 credits while Docker pays the least ~28 credits but is ~10 minutes per

Also, both Docker and Planck are VBox jobs while Classic is straight CPU

Sort:  

In Cosmology, I'm doing both Planck and docker, but mostly Planck as I feel it allows me to do as many wus as quickly as possible. Also I don't have the most powerful machines, so this suits my capabilities better.

The problems with the Cosmology site and validation has I'm sure put off some users, but I suggest we hang in there.

I certainly have quite a number of wus still in validation so I'm expecting a boost when they catch up.

WCG (although I'm not crunching them) work units seem, as I've seen from discussions in IRC, to be suffering slow validation and acquisition as well so I again think that we also need to hang in there.

I think switching at this juncture would be a mistake.

Am I right that both Einstein@home and LHC@home are up soon?

If I'm correct we need to play the other teams game and start bunkering NOW to ensure we have a good start.

It's also possible that some of our new users don't know how to bunker and may need advice on how to approach it.

Thanks for the input, Mercosity!

and yes, Einstein@home starts in 15h, and LHC@Home on May 12

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59647.06
ETH 2365.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56