Gridcoin users: we need feedback about yesterday's fork situation from you

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)


A little survey for the people who were yesterday on the fork: 

Your feedback will help us in deciding how to "fix" this anomaly. Thank you for your time!


1. Would you have liked such a notification/warning yesterday?

2. How would you have liked to be notified ? 

  • Just a message (with some howto), 
  • or also self-heal option (which has to be ACK'd by you first)?

3. How long were you actually yesterday on your fork ? 

  • my investigation shows so far that a wrong hash appeared at block: #957874 (maybe earlier, no info yet so far)

4. How did you notice something is "weird"?

  • a. did you notice something, actually yourself? What triggered this then? 
  • b. or did you react on some external influence (chatter in IRC, slack; this tweet; ...) ?

5. How did you fix your situation ? 


Sort:  

GridcoinIRC Gridcoin IRC tweeted @ 08 Jul 2017 - 15:52 UTC

ATTENTION: several users are on a "fork", please verify hashes: #957899 => 310694d5158ba06598e89c335fc8b629643ef1a7358baba513136e1941d9ea5d

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Never heard of grid coin ... Will check it out ltr

about step 5:

  • it seems the self-healing (without restart) doesn't work, see fresh feedback for version 3.5.9.2

Would have been nice to have a warning of sorts. Possibly as part of a news feed as discussed in the last hangout.

I only realised there was a problem as I happened to check IRC at the right time. I am sure my wallet would have fixed itself after a restart but I took the option to re-download the block chain which took a few hours.

I was still concerned after this as my wallet kept falling out of sync but it stabilised after a while with fediverse confirming my block hash.

See, this is what happens when I leave the house for a few hours....<--- goes to play catchup and make sure everything is ok. Thanks @erkan!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 67237.66
ETH 2668.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70