activity stats about the Gridcoin repository

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Here are some recent figures on the Gridcoin repository.


CoinGecko rates our repo in dev score at position 18:


e.g. behind us are:

  • 19 Decred
  • 20 BitShares
  • 22 Peercoin
  • 27 DogeCoin



How many like/fork/watch the code ?


1 month activity:


Additions + deletions over time:

  • as you can see more activity in recent months
  • see also: Gridcoin has now "~5k fewer lines we never have to see, never have to consider + never have to explain" (Swinging the Code Axe)



Around June the code got lots of unused features removed:




more in progress:

  • actual LOC changes
  • we have 26 code contributors: detailed activity
  • ...

see also:

Sort:  

I would love to see this topic written by one of our experienced and hard working Developers, as they have the insights and knowledge of what is going on.

Making a good informative post is much more than just pasting images. It's about sharing the insights and little bits of hints of what's to come.

Please leave this to the experienced crew @erkan.

Without erkan's posts most general users would not see most of what is going on behind 'the curtains'..

Considering the revelations of the past hours I think you should personally thank erkan for his 'due diligence' and search for the truth!!

Also, looking at the upvotes on your reply I notice that cm continues his obfuscation .. I also notice the downvotes on this post, cm and the same misguided individuals. The great plan to try and quash information that should be part of our ethos of transparency continues!!

All of these stats are publicly viewable on GitHub, these stats to non-github users are meaningless, especially the filesize differences.

I see little due diligence in erkans posts, more of a shoot first ask questions later style - not great.

Considering the revelations of the past hours I think you should personally thank erkan for his 'due diligence' and search for the truth!!

This has nothing to do with this post. This post is about statistics from the Development process. That I think should be written and handed out by one of the developers. Of course, Erkan is fully free to write whatever he wants, but I don't think he has the knowledge and know-how on all the things going on in the development process. That is why I think he should let one of the senior developers focus on topics like this.

I am happy also when a dev writes more details on this topic.

But, you going around and telling me what to write or not... hmm

No...

Of course, Erkan is fully free to write whatever he wants, but I don't think he has the knowledge and know-how on all the things going on in the development process. That is why I think he should let one of the senior developers focus on topics like this.

and this ?

Please leave this to the experienced crew @erkan.

If you had just said

I would love to see this topic written by one of our experienced and hard working Developers, as they have the insights and knowledge of what is going on.

I would agree with you.

But you called out erkan on a post that simply shows information, statistics, no FUD.

This is a good post with good information that people with knowledge of code and statistics will understand. Yes, people who do not understand code and statistics will have trouble analyzing and interpreting this data, but like you said, maybe a dev can write a breakdown. There can be more than one post about the same thing!

For example, I'm not a coder. I've used Github only a few times. But I can gain insight from this data without a write-up and I would not have seen this data if it were not for Erkan. I would love a more detailed explanation from a coders perspective that will help me gain even more insight, but that does not mean that this is a bad post.

Seeing posts with accurate information denied by community leaders (you and cm) intimidates others from posting or joining the community. It encourages silence over conversation. It encourages drama over production. It is a power play which is something I think we should try to avoid.

I would ask that we stop attacking Erkan the Person and attack his FUD posts instead. We cannot censor, only inform when there is misinformation or FUD.

IMO, this comment is what encourages drama, more than cm or startail ever did. To call a Steemit downvote a "denial of information" or "censorship" is simply blowing things out of proportion and that's almost never a good thing. Anyone can downvote anything, it's just how Steemit works. Downvoted content is still visible to anyone. Time spent complaining about it is much better spent on improving own content or curating good stuff. But of course, that's just my opinion.

To my knowledge, downvotes by those with a lot of steem power is considered a form of censorship by the general steemit community.

First of all, erkan (or anyone else posting under Gridcoin tag) was never downvoted with full voting power by any big whale here (erkan's reputation would be certainly much lower in that case). So, even according to your own criteria, erkan was never truly censored.

Second, perhaps you don't know that only 5 months ago, Steemit whales systematically downvoted plenty of high-quality posts in an attempt to reduce whale domination and to give more rewards and power to dolphins and minnows? Granted, it was a bad idea which didn't work out so well, but I hope it's a good example how downvotes are an integral part of Steemit that go beyond simple "oh my, they want me to shut up".

https://steemit.com/steemit/@denmarkguy/the-whale-downvote-experiment-some-perspective-and-the-value-of-staying-true-to-yourself

https://steemit.com/steemit/@papa-pepper/whale-downvoting-as-a-means-to-empower-minnows-and-dolphins-is-it-working

TL;DR -- let people ruin their own reputation with bad content, particularly if they are community members who sometimes spread useful information. No need to point it out unless it's spam (unreadable) and no need to downvote unless it's FUD or misinformation.


Flags do play an important role in the steemit economy, I agree.

Personally, I think flags should be saved for spammers, inappropriate content, bots, and the like. Erkan is a part of our community. I do not think we should be flagging him unless it's FUD or misinformation. When you flag, you literally hide a post from view (few outside people looking in are going to click to show the post that is hidden). Otherwise, I think reputation -- actual reputation among the community and not the number on steemit -- should do most of the work others might prescribe to flags.

In my view, flags are very aggressive, particularly when directed at long standing community members who happen to make a bad post that is not FUD or misinformation while also sometimes posting some actionable information.

Calling someone out actually increases the likely-hood that someone visiting the community will click on the called-out content. More comments = more likely.

Well written, but I never really flagged erkan (even when he posted FUD and disinformation) and I am still upvoting his better articles, so I kinda agree with you. Still, other users can vote as they like.

I get flagged too from time to time, but I never thought it's aggressive or 'censorship' and I certainly never thought I should complain about it on Slack or anywhere else. It's the way Steemit works, I still like it despite all bad, so stirring up drama is the wrong way to deal with it (or at least I think so).

Mmmmmm delicious statistics. Ty @erkan!

see also:

  • Gridcoin has now "~5k fewer lines we never have to see, never have to consider + never have to explain" (Swinging the Code Axe)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67519.16
ETH 3532.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68