You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1 Millionth Block Commemorative Coin goes to... block 999998... pomegranate-! An update.

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Depends! Did it hurt anybody? Did it endanger the network? Did it spawn quarrel within the circle of developers? If the answer to this is yes, then I would condemn such action. If not, then where is the problem?

He needed to try the exploit (as he says the testnet is not suitable), to make sure it works and needs to be fixed (even already providing a solution), so the timepoint is irrelevant. As long as the network does not suffer, is not this what an developer does?

Sort:  

Not telling his peers, acting alone, and don't forget

" [irc] TomasBrod APP [10:44 AM]
The whole 1M exploit was set up to run auto. I was not even home. "

We cannot function as a team with this behavior.

To be clear: I also prefer a clearly communicated collaboration, no doubt about that. There would have been more elegant ways. What I am intrested in is the motivation and how carefully he analyzed the situation and the impact of it. Is there anything known from the other devs? How do they think about it?

Really, @kuradikurat, flagging for a controversial opinion? Why not a comment? Flagging is not downvoting(!), and I do not see my post being spam or in any way against steemit - guidelines.

@kuradikurat, @theissen,

I have to apologize. The FAQs state flagging as a method to downvote, I was wrong. I relied on posts about flagging (on steemit), that had the consensus that only flagging spam and abusive content is part of the etiquette, but the FAQs say something different. The posts were obviously on how to improve flagging, not the current system. Again, my apologies!

Sorry, but flagging is the only option here to downvote content...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54681.92
ETH 2286.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29