Final Gridcoin Introductory Cinematic - 7 SecondssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Gridcoin is a cryptocurrency that rewards compute towards scientific applications, instead of POW hashing. Recently, the Gridcoin community has voted to adopt a new logo that is more in line with the logo art styles of the digital times we live in. To coincide with this, I have been generating some concepts for introductory cinematics that can head up or tail tutorial videos, content announcements, etc.

After the last two introductions I generated, I was inundated with feedback from both within and outside the Gridcoin community. Thank you all for taking the time to respond and provide feedback! On the whole, the primary issues were:

  • The introduction was too long at 15 seconds

  • The audio track was too relaxed, and the piano received generally negative feedback

  • The logo was too small at the end of the cinematic, or not clear enough

  • The highlights across the logo were sometimes perceived as rendering artifacts

Having taken all the above into account, I present to the Gridcoin community my third rendition of an introductory cinematic! We have a full 7 seconds of hyped up high fidelity audio, video stripped down to the core features, and high definition lighting!

As usual, any feedback is welcomed either on Steemit below or in the Gridcoin Slackchat. I am less active on the other channels - there are so many!

P.S. If no-one notices the shadow I may have an aneurysm.


Content credit:
Header, @joshoeah
Footer, @me-shell

Dutch2.gif

Sort:  

where's all the mathy/sciencey background stuff? was that down-voted out? I liked that stuff.

Lots of people said it was too busy, and that it related Gridcoin too closely to science whereas we are also supporting mathematics and other research projects.

I will change and adapt the intro based on what the community wants, so thank you for letting me know you liked that one! =)

I liked both the piano and the sciency background stuff. That piano reminded me of generic music that AI bots are capable of producing on their own today - it fits our 'Research Network' image (AI always being associated with computing power).

Yeah, I preferred the previous video even though it was longer - the guitar feels out of place & gave me a fright haha!

Damn - didn't mean to scare you!

I also prefer the calmer music.

Man that looks slick.. Though with the logo looking that shiny now I really want shiny enamel pin-badges! Can we make Gridcoin merch' our next venture please? :)

Haha I know right! =)

Maybe something to look into for a laugh after the rebrand.

I liked the longer videos but can see the value of something short and succinct. That being said I'm really not a fan of this guitar background, seems far too upbeat. I'd say trying something between this and the extremely calm piano from before might be a happy medium. (Though I really liked the piano)

Hey @trikkstar! Thank you for the feedback - I really appreciate it when people take the time to actually voice their opinion instead of just silently accepting or rejecting the community polls. This way, I can make changes to suit as many people as possible.

Point taken on the guitar - it is very upbeat and jumps out a bit too violently. I will have a play with something a little more active than the piano. If you have a track you would like to recommend, or make one yourself, we could also use that! =)

Licensing aside, of course. We can't steal content.

Really beautiful work, @Dutch. This would be the perfect intro to any Gridcoin related video.

I notice the shadow

Poifekt!!

Timing poifekt! Just the right length for an intro ..

Logo glows and looks oh so shiny ..

Really like that shadow ..

Please hold onto those other intros too ..
They can be used in other media applications ..

Thanks for all your work!!

boinc

Very well made I d say
Keep It up

Solid work! Ive been hearing a lot about gridcoin recently as a potential investment. Very professional intro to any videos you may be creating

wow Very interesting Really beautiful work, @Dutch Thank you for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70