Sort:  

Absolutely no disrespect taken :) all feedback is good!

The primary issue with the existing logo is in its scalability - there is simply too much going on at once and it does not perform its function as a logo effectively. As a piece of artwork, however, it's great - it's got loads of nice detail, but this same point is what makes it ineffective as a logo.

To pick out two major points:

  • When scaled down it quickly loses legibility, which dilutes its ability to be recognised or for the viewer to pick out the details that make it so fantastic when viewed at a large scale.
  • It falls back on tired design conventions, such as over-use of drop shadow and heavy gradients - Gridcoin and cryptocurrency are modern concepts that, in my opinion, would be best represented by designs that are modern, simple and versatile.

Now for a confession - I didn't actually clock what the current logo was (a G) for about six months. Even looking at it in various scales and formats, it somehow just didn't click due to how busy it was. That could just be me, but I think it says something about the over-complexity of the current design.

The designs I've championed so far are also still under consideration and development, so expect to see more variations or outright redesigns as time goes on :). Do let me know if anything catches your eye or if you have suggestions!

I also, for months, had no idea the current logo was a "G".

I prefer these new designs, they're so much less complex.

Thanks Jimbo, glad you like them!

Very well said, sir. I don't know if I prefer the older one because I'm used to it, maybe? Probably, I tend to be that way. And I look forward to seeing what you come up with, you're obviously talented.

The problem is not that the current art is bad - it is not. It just does not function as an icon at all as there is far too much detail.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59928.39
ETH 2649.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42