GridCoin full and test node + blockchain snapshot downloads

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Hello GridCoiners,

gridcoin.png

As per advice of @tomasbrod , I put blockchain downloads at the following address:

https://www.certic.info/downloads/snapshot.zip

md5sum = d873891e0860dfeb33bbbbb5ab0b2df7
sha256sum = 0629c74310ae7291ebf4bc1c53b9a3a4c3d7aa56b729597c365bfe88b3faf830

Download is served in DNS round-robin, from Belgrade (low bandwidth) and London (high bandwidth) in order to balance bandwidth and keep the snapshots active.

Snapshots are acquired from www.gridcoin.us, so always check the signatures.

Full node for wallet sync (port 32749) is available at: gridcoin.certic.info

Shortly, I will be raising a test net as well, so this post is going to be updated with new informations.

Update: testnode is available at grctest.certic.info syncing as we speak

For those who want to donate and keep the nodes active,

GRC address S1fvbZH9YpLPCT6TDnmNyi6QnZobEN4s21
BTC address: 1C9iAygJ5MCqHsdkNUdHpmb9LJYFGnu6T8

Happy crunching,
Stefan

Sort:  

Great to have more sources for the downloads. But more security is needed. Have you found checksum available somewhere on the gridcoin website? I am afraid it does not exist and that is a fault of site admins.
Next, please do NOT use MD5, instead provide a sha256 hashes.
Third, please join the slack channel and arrange with web maintainers some links there and forth. I will page someone to allow you join.

As for security, thanks for the advice. I'll double check everything and correct signatures. Current md5 is performed by myself using md5sum filename since i was unable to find any signature on the uscore website. I will have this corrected. As for the slack, i am unable to join. If channel owner can manually allow, my email is stefan at certic dot info

I'll get to correct the points mentioned as a first thing in the morning especially when it comes to security. For now, threat this as "work in progress" and not something we should rely on until we confirm everything on slack.

Thanks for hint and advices!

That is fine. Situation with signatures and checksumming is not very good and I can't do anything about it.
You just replace md5sum with sha256sum.

Done accordingly.

@crt, please provide your TestNet coin address, and cpid if you have one. I will send you some testnet coins so your node can do some work.

Thanks Tomas, the address of wallet syncing with test is S8FsvNs5FT73XFvdk73UMBFvV1vEKBqtX8 (test node), not to be confused with my CPID 6304a427ac0c90526142eaf0fe1f1224 (main node) - I am still to figure out if same is to be used on both or acquire new one. (Still need to figure out the differences between main and test node). So far i started new wallet with new address on test node, so it does not have CPID yet.

Great. I added your cpid into testnet. There is something broken in testnet and I have to add cpids manually. I also sent you some coins with a message, for experimentation. I will send you more once I hear more from you. I do not want lost coins and it also helps to get coins in multiple batches.
You want to run it as support full node, if I understand. Then please make sure it is accepting connections (listen=1) and ports are forwarded, unblocked, etc.
Good to see you on slack.

Thanks, got 13 GRC, although I was already in communication on slack, caraka already sent 20k test GRC. It's a full one with listen=1. Ports are open as well.

@tomasbrod Test node address: S8FsvNs5FT73XFvdk73UMBFvV1vEKBqtX8

This is not a testnet wallet address, sorry.

@tomasbrod what I am doing wrong?

Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 7.05.59 PM.png

was missing testnet=1, resyncing. - sorry.

Try this one: mt31rGzTigRsebejxhWyqF5aPTzfr51MpH, should be good after changing to test node. Sorry for the confusion, my first setup of testing one.

I'm trying to sync a full testnet node, but I hang at 3 days ago.

If it ever grabs the last few blocks, I have an address here:

n3p4EZyfHKforNQpEHYEPzSSdNcMgF26kx

CPID is here:
b67846ea8547cedd2d61ce492fe14102

However, that's my mainnet CPID too, so I'm not sure if that will be a problem.

(copied conf file for testnet).

testnet is 3.7.7.1 (vs 3.7.7.0 for mainnet). Ubuntu builds.

Well done, Stefan. 300 GRC donated.

300 GRC Received. Thank You very much @vortac
I'll try to bring as much as possible and make sure it's sustainable in a long term.

@vortac I would be very interested in your opinion over this discussion here https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@crt/gridcoin-where-it-goes-from-here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39