You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's talk about credit, benchmarks, and how i do believe they may need an overhaul.

in #gridcoin6 years ago

You have very interesting thoughts there @ivanviso I would disagree with some of them. Yes, I would love to get the higher credit per work unit as possible, but my hardware is not the newest in the market or a couple of generations off. I understand for those people that have the best hardware they are suffering now because they do not get the all of their credits when they are crunching projects that use the third method you mention. But, if projects change their methods of credits assigned to the one you suggest what would happen to the people that use hardware that is not up to date. They would have to spend funds on hardware that they do not have or continue falling behind. I think the methods to assign credits should be left the way they are because they help everyone. And, I would like to remind you that this is a volunteer computing network, so when people volunteer computer cycles to the network is what they have in regards to hardware because they want to help scientific research. But, for those people that have the high-end hardware, some projects utilize that high-end hardware to their fullest. So, for those people, they should choose those projects and leave the rest to people that do not have high-end hardware. And, everyone will have projects for their hardware to crunch.
If I misunderstood your point, I apologize, but I think that is why we have diverse ways of getting credits because not everyone will have the latest hardware or the same hardware.

Sort:  

It's unfair to everyone in this case . If I have a cpu half the powerful than the other one, complete one work unit in the same time, I will still get the reward proportional to that cpu , and also force the other one to get it.

True, I agree with you. But, my point, that the person has the choice to go to a project that has a more balance system. I would have like to see how many projects use which system to reward credits. And, then compare what cpu's and gpu's are running those projects. I believe that diversity is always good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87