Sort:  

As far as I'm concerned, everyone should! The world's scientific community is being retrained and held back by a chronic lack of computational power, and BOINC is a platform for the public to solve that problem. If you have a computer, of any kind, you can help.

If you would like to learn more about the projects that are currently looking for volunteers, here is an exhaustive list.

I think I have a spare laptop with a decent gpu that I could start BOINCing with.

A decent GPU opens up a lot of additional projects that just CPUs won't do much for. You could, for example:

  • Decode remaining Nazi WWII Enigma messages
  • Map the Milky Way
  • Search for primes
  • Model near Earth asteroids

and a whole bunch more!

Sounds pretty sweet, I'll try it out after work tomorrow. Thanks for the info!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66