World Community GridsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gridcoin5 years ago

082A637E-FB1C-448D-94CF-493E4F6CA252.jpeg

World Community Grid is by far my favourite aspect of Gridcoin, 40% of that is the screensavers they put on my computer while it’s working while 60% of that is the actual research they do that actually feels tangibly like we’re helping people.

Although in the last year the variety of projects have dropped considerably, and this is in no way disparaging in the people that run the program... scientists come to them for computer time not the other way around.

This is just me looking at what’s there and wishing for more projects.

Or environmental projects again that the computer can sink their teeth into.

361F5FD3-B04C-4B7A-9FDC-DD6A0C3FEBFB.jpeg

Or maybe I’m looking at the world around me and hoping the system gets projects that’ll fix some major problems.

I’m lamenting.

Sort:  

Have no fear! WCG recently picked up 3 (if I'm remembering correctly... I can't find the news article) new projects. I think one or two, if not all three, have to do with climate change. Here's a forum thread that talks about beta-testing of one of the new projects.

https://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/forums/wcg/viewthread_thread,41609_offset,0#610450

My favorite BOINC projects in no particular order:

  1. Rosetta@home - protein folding simulation for the purpose of finding cures to diseases like cancer

  2. World Community Grid - also searches for cures for various diseases in other ways

  3. Einstein@home - searches the galaxy for pulsars

  4. SETI@home - the distributed computing project that started it all. Around before BOINC and the first project on BOINC

  5. MilkyWay@home - modeling the galaxy

All of these also have great screensavers except for MilkyWay@home.

I did Rosetta as well for nearly a year, the folding protein was always pretty cool. I’m thinking of switching back to it

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good to see you're still supporting scientific research and Gridcoin.
Happy crunching =D

Yeah. My computer died awhile back so had to take time off, have a new gpu and motherboard so getting it going again

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81