Smash childhood cancer

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Several days ago I had decided to check out Facebook to see what my friends where up to, and it was usually the same old same old so I wasn’t paying too much attention; until I came across my friend Michael’s post about Childhood Cancers.

Michael’s a good guy, he’s an actor out of Vancouver that’s been raising funds for different charities that deal with health issues; lately he’s been selling shirts to raise money for a debilitating disease that shuts down people’s bodies for a week in which they have to be put into a coma. Needless to say, he’s caring and I like him for that reason.

image

This was the reason I took a quick look into his post, and discovered that it was a petition for people of the United States asking their Government to help fund Childhood Cancers; it turns out that the United States only gives 4 percent of their Cancer Research to look for new drug for Children.

image

News like that always makes me feel a little sad that nothings being done as it should be, and there’s nothing I could do here either as I’m not an American Citizen.

I was left with a dilemma though.

The person behind the petition was another friend of Michael’s, actually an actor who plays Robin Hood on a show called ‘Once Upon a Time,’ which I haven’t watching. Sadly his Son is going through Cancer and the problem they’ve encountered is the lack of new drugs for kids; which is also something I’m dealing with as part of the BOINC project from Berkley; Smash Childhood Cancer is one of the Units you get under the World Community Grid.

Is this a good time to bring up the project?

I can judge that it’s clearly a personal project of his and has deep meaning behind it… he’s a father wanting to save his Son; I wondered if I was encroaching on his post in order to push something that I care about… would I be stealing people from his petition to look into Boinc?

image

On the other side of the coin ‘Smash Childhood Cancer’ is something that people can do now that contributes directly to science; the end result for both of us is exactly the same thing.

We both want to end Cancer.

We want to save people.

It came down to contacting Michael and asking him if he’d mind if I point out this option to his followers and specifically his friend who’s going through what no parent should ever have to go through. My post on the matter grabbed a lot of people’s attention, mostly billowed by the actors coattails but it’s getting something I care about out there.

Thus bringing me to this post.

I’d like to ask that people look into the BOINC project from Berkley, you can find it here https://boinc.berkeley.edu

Sort:  

BOINC is something that we can all do to make the world a better place.

posted is beautifull and usefull.thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82