Gridcoin fun

in #gridcoin7 years ago

When I first stepped into Boinc processing back in the day it was for the science aspect of it. I love science, I love new technology and I love gadgets that have lots of buttons on it.
I left the system when my computer that ran it passed away and I upgraded to a new computer I needed for editing; so never got back into it.
It was actually from researching digital currencies and mining that I came back into the fold (get it, fold... rosetta@home joke)

I found Gridcoin and how it was connected to the science so I was able to solve two birds with one stone. My need for money and my need for being apart of cool things.

Here's what I've encountered though... I don't want to get rid of my Gridcoin.

I have enough to make a substantial dent into my credit card with what I have and buy my mother lunch.

But I'm hooked on collecting it now just for the sake of collecting it, not because of its value now or the fact there's a larger potential value down the line. I'm looking at it as hockey cards or stamps.

Where you at? Oh me, I've made 1000 coins on the Gridcoin pool. I'm up to 2000. What kind of feeling would you get when you hit Ten Thousand.

I wonder if that's because as a digital object it doesn't have a financial value I've used, sort of abstract until I spend it. Or is it my OCD side where I like watching the numbers go up.

I do have a question when it comes up... the voting in the wallet... also addictive?

What about contests? Are there Gridcoin contests like there are steemit... another coin I'm addicted to once I discovered I can see the interest change every new block.

"Boy, that andrew guy sure knows how to save."
"He's not saving. He's hourding."
"Digital coin?"
"Doesn't take up a lot of space I guess."

image

Picture provided by people wanting to make it the new symbol, I like it.

Sort:  

You inspired me to do the same!

Nice to have you as a member of both the Gridcoin Community as well as the Steemit Community andrewgenaille!!

You obviously have great writing skills and we could certainly use them ..

Come and join us on slack and put those skills to use to benefit the Gridcoin Community please ..

IRC:

https://kiwiirc.com/client/irc.freenode.net:6697/#gridcoin-help

Slack:

https://teamgridcoin.slack.com

boinc

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by heathergirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60961.08
ETH 2363.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52