I hit 1000 GRC!!

in #gridcoin7 years ago

I made it!

1000

I also added another laptop to my setup. It's an old Dell Latitude 6410 with an i7 processor and 4GB RAM. Nothing too impressive.
laptop

I decided to try making it my heating PC. It doesn't do all that well, but I may convert a PC fan to USB and attach it to blow the hot air more around the room. I'm planning on only running it at night, so it should be able to get me almost half of what my work laptop gets...so probably 0.5 GRC per day.

I try to mine with my main PC at least an hour a day, and all throughout the day on the weekends. Unfortunately this really kills my RAC, so I barely get anything with it.

Now that I've hit 1000, I'm thinking of trying out solo again. Unfortunately I already tried once, got the first timer's stake bonus, and got a CPID. But I mined so little on my home PC where I was soloing, that I went down to 0 mag and lost my researcher status. So when I go back to solo, I'll have to use my own weight to stake again, right? And will I have the same CPID still? According to this calculator it'll take a little while to stake, so soloing may have to wait a bit more.
stake chance

Sort:  

Well done and now up to the next 1000!!

I notice you have problems with the heat dissipation of your laptop (I recognise the tilted laptop :) ). Adding a USB fan may help but very likely it is the dust in your laptop in combination with the cooling paste on your CPU that doesn't allow the heat to be removed in the first place.

I'm cleaning the fan inlet every 6 months with high pressure air and replace the CPU cooling paste once a year. By doing so my CPU runs at max speed and thus max RAC output. Besides this, the CPU remains around 10 degrees cooler with the fan running at lower speed which is a nice bonus.

Maybe something to consider, especially when you use your laptop for work and you don't want to carry around the USB fan all the time but still want to have max RAC output.

Thanks for the tip, but I'm counting on that heat for the cold winter months. It's an old Dell laptop that I don't use for anything. It's standing on its side for better heat dissipation and room warming. And it makes it more out of the way.

Understood but the heat still need to be able to get out of your laptop or the CPU will throttle down and produce less heat than it maximum can. Good luck with your heating project!

Ah, gotcha. I'll probably go around to all my machines and reapply some paste. Been meaning to do it anyway.

reading through this was like reading a foreign language lol I understand what is going on from a high level. What does GRC stand for? Like how much "bitcoin" did you just get? If that's even the right question to ask.....

GRC is Gridcoin, a cryptocurrency that pays you for your scientific research done using the BOINC distributed computing program. You can use your idle computer time to help science projects like mapping the galaxy, finding cures for diseases, searching for aliens, or cracking codes from the Nazis' enigma machine in ww2.

1 GRC is currently worth about 6.5 cents, so 1000 is $65. And that would be about 0.003 BTC. So not much, but GRC was at 3 cents for a while so the value has doubled at least. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50