GRC Staking Calculator Spreadsheet

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

(Updated with google docs link toward the bottom)

A few months ago, @skcin wrote up a pretty amazing post about calculating your stake probability under the new version.
https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@skcin/gridcoin-v8-difficulty-and-what-it-tells-you
Being a math nut, I immediately dug into it to see how long it would take me to stake back when I had 200 GRC. Now that I have 1000, I looked at it again, and I took all the math and put it into a spreadsheet. It appears that the only items from skcin's list that are subject to change are the difficulty and the stake weight, so these are the only two fields I have set up for user input.

Here's a screenshot of the main page. Enter in the difficulty and how many coins you have, and it'll do all the work for you.
display

On this page is all the math behind the scenes.
math bits

As you can see here, I have a pretty good chance of staking in a month and should definitely stake after about 2.6 months. I think I'll stay pool mining for a little while longer then.

You can check out the spreadsheet here:

My only concern is how drastically different it is from the info given within the wallet. On the day that I wrote up this spreadsheet, my wallet said I should stake within 11 days instead of the 1-2 months that the spreadsheet stated. Not sure why there is such big discrepancy though.

Anyway, give it a look and let me know what you think.

Sort:  

Love the way Gridcoin grows so organically through the decentralized inputs of people like you @alanman

Great stuff! You should announce it on our Reddit, where we always have plenty of newbs asking "how many GRC do I need to stake"

Great idea! I'll take Slapbox's advice and make it a google doc, then I'll drop it over on reddit. Thanks.

Congratulations @alanman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very cool, but it would be great to have a Google Drive spreadsheet instead. Much easier to use in a one-off sort of way then.

Great idea! Will do!

Edit: Done! Here's a link: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1UD-tB3uaq3gj2sxK7fVYvxhtiatbOdaan-vGM07WA9E/edit?usp=sharing

I'll update the post with it too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61870.12
ETH 2401.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53