World Community Grid & The Beast

in #gridcoin6 years ago

Hello All,

A few posts ago, I mentioned how a purchased a used IBM server with 40 logical cores which I named "The Beast." As noted in the post, I tried a few projects and was playing around with ODLK1.

After a bit of time passed, I also tried YAFU. I wasn't a big fan as the work unit completion times were all over the place and it tied up all 40 threads much of the time. Putting MAG concerns aside, I decided to point The Beast and my Odroid XU4 back to World Community Grid. As you can see from my monthly newsletter (screen shot below), April was a rather productive month!

I have also finally received my NanoPC T3 Plus and NanoPi Fire 3 and have them pointed to the World Community Grid as well. I need to manage some heat issues from them, but hope to have a report about their performance in the coming weeks. I also just ordered a RPi3 B+ to try it out against the older RPi3 that I have...

Sort:  

So many badges! 😮

are you familiar with the app_config.xml files and that you can configure projects beyond the settings withing the project? Although iirc Yafu lets you set core limits within the project but you can for example tell a projects application how many cores to use per the application , for example you could tell it 8 cores and you would end up with 5 yafu 8 core WU running at a time. Also , if you look at the properties of work units you will see that there are for example 1,000,000 clock cycles on 1 and maybe 10,000 on another thus making work unit times different but credit is credit and its not based off how many work units you complete its based upon clock cycles that you contribute. Originally it was bogomips back when we were in the AMD K6/K6-2/K6-3/Slot 1 days of seti@home and a work unit took you 5-7 days.
You can also configure your GPU for more than 1 thread.
Here is an example , and you can google " boinc app_config.xml " along with " boinc plan_class "

Since steemit wont allow me to paste the .xml examples correctly without wanting to use html code tags here are some older configs for examples http://xion.dopeshit.net/~blah/boinc/configs/Configs/ and what I am talking about and you can find examples along with write/do this on every project and for every application.

Definitely not familiar with the configuration file...on my infinite list of more research!

Reply to my last blog post everytime you make a blog post and I will upvote and resteem it for free to my 36,000+ followers. @a-0-0

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65