End of season for my Greenhouse toms

in #greenhouse7 years ago

Hey,

Autumn is in full swing here and there's no point to let my tomato plants to keep growing. Depending on the size of the fruit it takes about 40-60 days from flower to ripe fruit and while some of the existing flowers might still have to the time to turn into a tomato, any new flowers forming from now on would fail.
20170910_171217.jpg

I've topped all my plants today, it's been a sad moment...heh. With them being single stemmed, topping them stops them growing any further and concentrates all the energy into the existing fruit; sure there will be some sideshoots trying to take over, but they'll be snipped as well.
20170910_174927.jpg
20170910_174923.jpg

While I was between the rows I had a look at the peppers, they're still looking good.
20170910_174725.jpg

Picked some more toms. Oxhearts.
20170910_181119.jpg

Some beautiful Green Zebras.
20170910_181236.jpg

And today's harvest.
20170910_182207.jpg

Obviously today was difficult ... having to admit the autumn is winning and finally beheading my tomato plants. I had a little help to take the edge off in the guise of a nice can of...lager. Yeah ... lager, I don't really drink it anymore but my lovely @massive-pop got it for me and it was chilled.
20170910_182249.jpg

This is by London's Fourpure and it's one of their flagships beers, the Pils Lager. Their blurb on the back is "
This is our take on a traditional German Pilsner. Generously hopped with a blend of Hallertauer and Saaz and fermented with a classic Bavarian yeast. Inspired by Munich, and our cycling adventures through Germany and the Czech Republic."

I have to admit this was way better than what I expected.
Lovely hazy straw colour, small head.
20170910_182415.jpg

Smells fruity and you get some hops, nothing that's hitting you in the face though.
20170910_182608.jpg

Taste wise, medium bitterness, bit of some malty sweetness and citrus after. You get a hint of the hops at the end which is making the whole beer quite pleasant and refreshing. I'm a fan of this one, will need to try some of their others as well.

20170910_183410.jpg

That's all for now, cheers guys!

Sort:  

Beer and tomatoes go well together. :-)
I've been cutting back my tomato plants in my greenhouse also, it's that time again.

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

Cheers mate!

Thankful to you again for all the learning u distribute,Good post. I was astoundingly enthusiastic about the string, it's extremely persuading I should yield. I like going to you site since I for the most part go over captivating strings like this one.Great Employment, I unbelievably recognize that.Do Continue sharing! Regards,

WAIT!!
READ THIS BELOW KINDLY !!


Today at 5:25 AM according to Pakistan Time I will Post an Article about The Top Most Story of an Actress That You Will LOVE it
That's Why I Request you To Kindly FOLLOW ME and Checkout MY POST at today 05:25 AM on my blog according to my pakistan TIME Also I will Mention you on My That POST

FOLLOW ME - WAIT FOR MY POST

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a Bellyrub and 2.67 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @costopher. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

Those tomatoes look great. I've still got some fruit coming on mine also.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Costopher from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thanks for the mention, but it wasn't me that bought the lager! Mr Folk brought it round on GOT finale evening. Glad it gave you a fond farewell to the toms.

Really good post. Even i have YouTube gaming channel & new video daily upload.You just have a look. if possible plz do subscribe my channel-
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdLTzGuwJd2hY5mLEh1tk5A
Follow me @maruf121

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57226.98
ETH 2416.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29