Growing Onions - Second TakesteemCreated with Sketch.

Green Onions

Green onion.JPG

My friend used to work for a company which made organic Sauerkraut, Kimchi, and a few other things. For a while, she would bring me all the cabbage scraps to feed to my chicken. And sometimes, a box or two of produce would go a little limp and she would bring that too.

I belong to a Buy Nothing group, and when I got a couple of boxes of green onions (36 bunches of onions in each) I gave many away and ate many more.

Having onions on my mind, it was the perfect time to start an experiment I had been wanting to do for a long time. Regrow onions after cutting them.

Growing Green Onions - Take Two

For my experiment, I only ate the green part of some of the bunches. Of course, I left the roots on and about 2 inches of the white stem.

cut water.JPG

Then I placed the bunch into a cup filled with plain water.

cut side.JPG

I packed as many bunches as I could into the cup.

cut top.JPG

As you can see, five bunches made it in and the tops are evenly cut off.

I tried to remember to change the water every day - at least, every other day.

A couple of days later, this started to happen.

cut2.JPG

We are seeing some growth!! A few days later, we are definitely seeing green shooting up.

cut3.JPG

Every day, there is more growth!

cut4.JPG

cut5.JPG

I found this to be a good time to cut the greens or to eat the whole onion at this point.

cut6.jpg

I tried to repeat the process over again but that didn't work out too well. Partly, it probably was my fault by not changing the water enough, but I am also suspecting that I needed to add some nutrients to the water.

I planted a few of the third try onions into the soil and a couple of them made it. I am thinking that it might have been more successful to plant them after the second harvest.

I probably won't repeat this experiment since I actually like to eat the white part of the onion and I do have enough land to grow as many onions as I need. I let some mature onions go to seed and then harvest the babies as I need them. However, if I wouldn't have a yard and a year-round growing season, this is a great way to get a second harvest and save some hard earned cash.

It was worth the try!!

I wrote this post for the Greenest thumb challenge. Hurry! One more day left! You can enter it as well!!!

Here is a link to the post by @cryptofarmer explaining the contest.

https://steemit.com/greeenestthumb/@cryptofarmer/greenest-thumb-challenge-4-winner-announcement-and-sbd-to-win-this-week

Where else to find me
Listen to our podcast here: http://www.sustainablelivingpodcast.com/

Support us on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/user?u=2723500

Follow us on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarianneEWest

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/sustainable0019/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCA73SuaMBnBIaB5OdiL_y6Q/videos?view_as=subscriber

Sort:  

Upvoted by the Minnows Accelerator Project (MAP).

This article was created by a MAP Member. Any quality blog creator can request to join the Minnows Accelerator Project too.

Read all the articles posted by MAP members.

Please support MAP so that we can continue to support Quality Content Creators.

Hi, please let me know if my upvote for you doesn't show up! It looks to me as un-processed but it also won't let me vote again, so it may be in a queue.

Hi!! First, thank you so much again!! But the vote is not showing up :(

Done now :-)

Thank you!! :)

Thank you so much!! I am on busy right now and it doesn't show me. I will let you know as soon as steemit works again - or when I get back there. I really appreciate all you do!!

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Wow thanks for sharing, this looks easy. I like green onions and I'm gonna try this! So I don't need to buy more.

You can certainly stretch that grocery money....

That's so neat! I love seeing "discarded" food get used well and better than being thrown in the garbage. We used to have a salvage grocery store near our house in Ohio (before we moved) and I spent a whole summer canning and enjoying pounds of discarded strawberries, peaches, and tons of other food that was otherwise destined for the dumpster.

I would dumpster-dive for stuff if I could, but they lock them up around here. A shame!

I used to own a grocery store and it is amazing how much food has to be pulled. People just won't buy something which doesn't look perfect in their eyes. I used to have a lady come every day and take it to a soup kitchen. Technically, that was probably not even legal - I know restaurants have to jump through hoops to give their leftovers to homeless, for example.
I do understand that dumpsters get locked. We had people come by at night and make huge messes for us to clean up in the morning.....

That's so fascinating to hear it from the grocery-store-owner's perspective! I had no idea that people would leave messes like that...how rude.

Yes, it was rude and also got us into trouble. For a while, we had a medfly quarantine and any fruit or produce had to be double bagged in plastic trash bags. If any was showing - fine. Well, we did that. Then somebody came at night to dig for rabbit food or something (if they would have let me know, I would have saved it for them to pick up) and left a mess.
The inspectore came first thing in the morning. Boom. Fine.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67918.33
ETH 3740.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69