GO GREEN 2019, My 365-Day Diary for Mother Earth and Humanity! (Day 7 of 365)

in #greendiary6 years ago

January 7, 2019.

Learning New Things About Farming and Aquaponics

Hi, Steemheads!

If you've been following my posts you'll know I now try to prepare and cook my own food to make sure they're healthy and for me to save money from spending too much from take-outs. I am also trying to go to the local flea market to buy veggies and fruits as opposed to going to grocery stores and supermarkets because I want to save money and help local farmers. I have also expressed my intent to adopt a 12-family tribe of Filipino Indigenous People called Mamanwa, so all the saving and all the lifestyle change in me is actually partly dedicated to them.

I am currently studying how I can help more the Mamanwas. It echoes in my head what they were concerned of, they wanted to have vegetable seeds and rice seeds for their farming. I want to dole out a few of these and also make sure to tap the Department of Agriculture to help them have this for free. I am currently thinking of a specialized crop I can buy and give them. My good friend, @otom has been giving me ideas such as dragon fruit and peruvian apples. We are both thinking of something we can have that will be appropriate for the tropical Philippine weather and crops that will live and could be harvested with our 6 months of rain and 6 months of dry season.

I have visited a local organic farm that has aquaponics setup and I am excited to learn about this and see if this is possible. Other than helping the Mamanwas with farming, I, myself wants to have my own garden at home and experiment with crops I can plant. This is definitely something I can do worthwhile. Probably a new hobby I can try. I've been watching a lot of Youtube clips on this topic and I will want to start buying stuff to make this happen. Of course, it will all be shown here in Steemit when I do so.

Below are the pictures I took when I visited the organic farm near my residence.

farm.jpg The farmers.
farm1.jpg
farm3.jpg
farm4.jpg
farm2.jpg
Their farm huts.

This post is just 7th of 365 posts I will do the whole year, dedicated to going Green and sharing Humanity. If you think you wanna make a similar challenge to yourself, of course, you can join and do the same thing, too!

Join me, in my 2019 journey. Thanks for reading and I hope we all can share in Steemit the little things we learn in life as we go along. I wish you all to have a meaningful and prosperous new year!

Love and Peace,

@mermaidvampire

Sort:  

This farm looks great. Best of luck with this new year resolution. If I had enought dirt in my house I'd be planting everything we eat. I love farming. I'm planning a post on the fruit plants I grow in pots and whcih i have to give away becasue I don't have a place for them to grow.
Love and peace for you too.

Nice initiative @mermaidvampire
Wishing your great Achievements.
🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

We only need loam soil for dragon and peruvian apple, I think the mountains of Mamanwa is blessed with such, together, let's change the world! as per @partiko says...

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been found valuable and upvoted by El surtidor


This post got an extra 5 power for following us

Follow @elsurtidor to get biggest votes in your next posts

lots of green and everything looks clean and nice :)
where exactly is this?

I'm in the Philippines, in the island called Leyte and we are nearby a seashore facing the Pacific Ocean. The soil is sand and not fit for vegetable farming so the farmers are trying a lot of ways to make it work for them.

i see. thanks! good to know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72