Green Borscht Rediscovered: A Nostalgic Culinary Journey from Childhood Dislike to Adult DelightsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #greenborscht4 months ago

Today, I'd like to share a cherished recipe from my childhood – "Green Borscht." Surprisingly, this soup, once a culinary adversary during my youth, has become a beloved dish in my adult life. My grandmother frequently prepared the green variant, which I stubbornly refused to consume. Strangely, while I had no interest in the red borscht either, the green one held a particular aversion for me. To the extent that my mother had to intervene and request my grandmother not to serve this soup whenever I was around.

Nowadays, however, it has evolved into a nostalgic part of my life, symbolizing my childhood. The enticing aroma of green borscht is something I've grown to adore. Whenever the opportunity arises to savor a bowl, I find it impossible to resist.

What's fascinating is that this soup can be wonderfully adapted to a vegetarian version.

Borscht, a traditional soup, finds its place on tables spanning from Poland, Galicia, Romania, Ukraine, Belarus, to the Volga and Don regions in Russia. While Borscht is commonly associated with its red hue, Ukraine, in particular, boasts a distinctive green variation.

image1.jpg

Ingredients

  • 500 g meat (chicken or pork)
  • 6 potatoes
  • 100 g pearl barley or rice
  • 1 onion
  • 200 g sorrel
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup of sour cream
  • 1 bunch Dill
  • 1 bunch of leeks
  • salt and pepper

Preparation

Working hours: approx. 30 min.

Place the meat in boiling salted water. Cut the potatoes into large cubes and add them. Cook pearl barley or rice. When the meat, potatoes and pearl barley are cooked, remove the meat and cut it into small cubes. Finely chop the onion and sorrel and add to the boiling soup. Put the meat back in. Season the soup with salt and pepper and thicken it a little with sour cream.

Boil the eggs hard and add them diced into the finished soup. Scatter finely chopped dill and leek over it.

Tip

Other meat can also be used: e.g. B. smoked ham or smoked pork.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78