Avocado Farm for Sale (Japan)

in #green7 years ago

Hi Steemians! I have a small avocado farm here in Japan...

well ok it's not a farm. But I have more than 10 avocado trees growing in my house, and every so often I end up throwing them away as I have no where to plant them. (we live in an apartment with balcony, not a garden) So if anyone in Japan is interested I can give them for upvote! as long as the babies can be picked up! :-)

Why? Because it is by product of us eating yummy avocados.

Let's start with step by step, how easy it is! (and one very important tip of successful growing)
unnamed-4.jpg
So enjoy your avocado the way you like. I like them diced and straight into my mouth the best. What about you?

then you get the pit, and don't bother washing clean like everyone else tells you, but you (Yes THIS IS THE MOST IMPORTANT TIP!!!) peel the pit naked.unnamed-3.jpg
If I didn't peel them, sometimes especially the ones that been in the fridge didn't start waking up, but when I peel it, even though sometimes it takes 2-3 weeks, it almost always started to grow. I believe it makes it easy for the water to wake it up.

unnamed-2.jpgThen you stub the toothpicks into the pit ruthlessly. Just pay attention to the angle as you will have to re-stub it again if you make mistake.(Which won't cause anything else than red scar but when you see it, you are reminded that you did it wrong)

Then find a jar or cut our a pet bottle. I like the jar to be big/tall so I don't have to refill water too often. (l can leave it as it is for a week when it's a good size bottle!!!)
unnamed-1.jpg
*Do you see the brown thingies behind the jar? That's the other avocados in a cut open pet bottle. Also easy toothpick free way to do it. But it doesn't look as nice as in the jar so I keep them above the kitchen sink...

then in 1-2 weeks you will see the pit breaking in half, and the roots starting to say "hello" into water.unnamed.jpg

Once it started to grow, I just leave them, watering whenever you feel like it, or when the tree looks sad.

These are the oldest ones that I have. the thickest if 2 years old, the thin ones are 1 year old.
unnamed-5.jpg

I haven't figured out how to keep them short and full yet, but the oldest one(the thickest one) is doing so great, I am planning to eliminate the others into my parents' garden so I can make the condition better for the oldest avocado tree of mine.

Well really it's easy as peas. I always managed to kill every plant I tried to own until I met my free, by product avocado trees. I even give tips to my friends how to keep them.... So next time you have avocado toast, avocado banana smoothie etc maybe you can join me and start your own farm...

Sort:  

I wonder if we’ll ever manage to grow our own advocados from those trees...

Bonsai Avocados, bite sized fresh Avocados from home of Biscuits!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55