You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dumpster Divers: Helping The Environment On The Daily

in #green8 years ago (edited)

I live in an Apartment Complex. Over a hundred apartments. We have four or five dumpsters strategically located around the complex so that we can dump our trash. Usually in trash bags. Oddly enough the people from the surrounding subdivisions seem to think that the dumpsters are theirs to use also.

I go for walks occasionally and pass each dumpster in turn. You would not BELIEVE what people throw away. Like furniture. Right now I'm sitting in a very nice office chair that I 'rescued' from the dumpster. I've seen a LOT of various types of furniture, clothes, electronics (a computer!)...just about anything actually.

I'd actually thought of 'salvage-resale' myself.

Sort:  

that is awesome that you were able to get a chair and rescue it! I have seen amazing things thrown into the dumpster -- laptops, cellphones, never opened cologne, etc.If you aren't afraid to get a little dirty.. you can find some amazing things sometimes! thanks for your feedback :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66437.31
ETH 3491.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69