Greek Custom Renders Sunblocks Useless!

in #greek-trail6 years ago (edited)

It's the first day of March today, meaning spring has just begun (hooray!) and I wanted to share a greek custom with you... 

Every year on 1st March my grandma or my mum would make my sister and me bracelets with red and white thread. We were supposed to wear them for the whole month so we wouldn't get... burnt by the sun. Yes, you heard it right, we don't need sunblocks because we have our Μάρτη (martie) bracelets to protect our skin from the spring sun (a method scientifically approved and accepted by all dermatologists). You can also wear it as a ring (although I prefer the bracelets). At the end of the month, you cut it off and leave it on a rose or any other tree so that the swallows will take them to build their nests.

Why red and white? Because these colors are believed to fight negative energy from others against us, what we call μάτι (eye). 

This custom with some variations can be found in other countries of the Balkan peninsula like Albania, Romania, Moldova and Bulgaria. The Romanian legend is really beautiful, allow me to share it with you:

The Sun had turned into a man and came down to earth, but a dragon kidnapped him and the world was left in darkness. The world was withering until a brave young man decided to confront the beast. The man beat the dragon and the Sun was set free, but he lost his life. His blood was poured onto the white winter snow and as an honor to his sacrifice people make a talisman from red and white thread to offer as a gift. The gift is worn from the 1st to the 31st March when it is hanged on a fruit-tree and is meant to bring good health and luck. [source]

If you want to learn more, you can check out wikipedia's article.


Do you want to make some with me and my trolls? Come on!

First, we take some red and white yarn or thread. You take measures of your wrist and cut the thread accordingly (you don't want it to be too tight).

Then, tie the one ending of the threads...

 and start twirling them together to get this spiraling  result.

Wrap around your wrist, tie and cut the edges.

Your protection against the sun's harmful UV rays is ready!

Here we made a Steemit Μάρτη! Do you like it?

*All images above by @ruth-girl

If you want, you can take it a step further and turn those simple bracelets into real pieces of jewelry just like my artist cousin does:

Images from my cousin's facebook page (I won't provide a link, because she asked me not to) 


Question! Question Miss, why are there little eyes hanging?

In Greece people believe in what we call μάτι (matie = Eye). As I told you before, it is the negative energy from a person against you, it usually comes from envy. It can get you all sorts of bad things, from a headache to losing your job. Those little eyes hanging fromthe bracelets are supposed to keep the Bad Eye away. So is the blue bead you can sea (Βάλε χάντρα θαλασσιά - Put on a blue bead, a song says). Don't forget, a Μάρτης bracelet does not protect you only against the sun, but also against other people's bad feelings towards you.

To fight it off we have a procedure called ξεμάτιασμα (ksematiasma - basically means undoing the bad things the Eye does). The procedure involves for the ξεματιάστρα (ksematiastra - the person who knows how to perform it) saying a prayer, spilling some drops of olive oil over a small glass of water. As the drops fall on the water they may accumulate to form a great dot (that's when we say the person the prayer was meant for had the Eye on them). This person must then take three sips from this glass to break the bad energy's effect and the rest of the liquid is disposed off in a place where no ones steps (usually a flower pot).

Pretty cool, huh? 

Of course what I just described is what my mother used to do (mock it or not, she did that to me back in the days when I was a cute, chubby kid and she thought I was so beautiful that people envied me and gave me a headache, I don't remember if it worked btw). And although it might sound contradictory, the Church has accepted the Eye and there are prayers for protection against it.

If you have made it to the end of this not so ruth-girl-like post, I'd like to listen to your views on my country's traditions.

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!

Sort:  

Awesome write-up!

I did not know the history of the Μάρτη. It's funny how we take our precious tradition for granted when we are brought up with it. Thanks for enlightening us. I hope you follow this up with similar posts.

I wish you a Blessed Pascha.

I know, the tradition dates back in ancient Greece and Byzantine years, I just didn't want to get too many details here. I think I'll get a few more posts like this, we have so many customs worth mentioning.

Blessed Pascha to you too @exercisinghealth! :)

I think you will have content for months in this direction! Simple is good though. Give people a taste of the traditional and they can go find out more....
Looking forward to the next one

Okay when I saw the title I thought the customs office in Greece actually put some kind of ban or regulation on importing Sunblock creams or lotions!! 🤣😆

Now I feel stupid 🙄

Bahahahahahahahahahaha! Really?!

Yes 😂

In fact this is not my favourite office here in Greece at all and I expect everything of them!

Hahaha but isn't that the same with all customs offices all over the world!! xD xD

At the end of the month, you cut it off and leave it on a rose or any other tree so that the swallows will take them to build their nests.

Ah! That's so cute!

Τουλάχιστο έτσι έχει κάποιο όφελος αυτή η δεισιδαιμονία!

Ναι, έχει μια δόση ρομαντισμού που τα μικρά (και τα μεγάλα) παιδιά αγαπάνε! :D

Edw sto grafeio (ny) kathe xrono tous ftiaxnei mia sunadelfos Thessalonikia. Prin thn gnorisw den eixa ksana akousei giauto to ethimo...

8210C1FF-0438-48F6-80FA-F14380FD718D.jpeg

Ωωω! Υπερατλαντικός Μάρτης δηλαδή :Ρ

Καλό μήνα να έχουμε! :)

Nai!! Kalo mina!

Λοιπόν μιάς και είχαμε την ίδια ιδέα να ποστάρουμε για τον Μάρτη σήμερα, θα σου κάνω παραγγελία ένα "Μάρτη" steemit 😂😉!!!

Αχαχαχαχα! Έγινε! Να πάρω όμως καλύτερα γράμματα, πιο φαντεζί, αυτά είχαν ξεμείνει από κάτι άλλες χειροτεχνίες.

Το είδα το ποστ σου το πρωί, αλλά δεν πρόλαβα να το διαβάσω ολόκληρο κι ήταν πολύ ενδιαφέρον! Θα πάω να το τελειώσω σε λίγο ;)

Thanks so much. Shared your post in a German/Greek Facebook-Group

That's cool, thank you ;)

I like these traditions, and to me its not important, if the "magic" works or not. Believing that it works, already takes you a long way :-)

Nice tradition, I better go and buy some yarn. And your cousin should get a steemit account!

Traditions are what makes us feel we belong to a people, a culture, a trail in history...

You are right! I have been trying to get her make one for months. Maybe I should just make her one to get it over with and then have her knit some Μάρτη high heels for her introduction post :P

Excellent idea! I guarantee, it will be very successful.. with me at least ;-)

We have the same tradition here in Romania. Nice, I didn't know Greece has Martenitsa(mărțisor in the Romanian language)

It's fun, 'cause I didn't know other countries had it either.
Thanks for reading @alexandraioana26! :D

αν δεν αλλάξει ο καιρός να βγάλει λίγο ήλιο μόνο το μάτι θα μας χρειάζεται!

Ένα δίκιο το 'χεις! Καλό μήνα! :D

Καταρχάς καλό μήνα! Πολύ ωραίο άρθρο! Εμαθα κανα δυο πραγματα που αν και ελληνίδα δεν ειχα ιδέα, οπως η ιστορία με τον ηλιο... πραγματικά καταπληκτική😏😊

Καλό μήνα και σε σένα! Ευχαριστώ! Είναι απίστευτο πόσο ίδιες είναι κάποιες παραδόσεις ανάμεσα σε διαφορετικούς λαούς και οι θρύλοι του καθενός πραγματικά αξίζουν να τους διαβάσεις!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72