You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Μερικές σκέψεις περί Plagiarism...

in #greek-trail6 years ago (edited)

I can write in Greeklish, but for this comment, I want to be clear in what I say, so I hope everybody can read what my thoughts are.

I have long since realised I am not going to make money here (I'll give some reasons below), so I had to decide what I will concentrate on. I chose three:

  • Publish my own stories, poems etc, plus the odd health or political article, if I feel strongly about it
  • Make friends - not just acquaintances
  • Help newbies, if I think they show some talent

The first two are not causing me problems, but the third not only is causing me problems, but is tiring and at times depressing. As others have said, some newbies react to advice with insults. Them I have chosen to ignore, let them do what they do, knowing somebody who flags will take care of them. I cannot flag and be friendly and try to help, it is not in my nature.

Maybe once a week I find a newbie who shows he understands and even asks for advice and I then go all out to help them. Sometimes, if they have been flagged, I visit the flagger and ask them to undo their flags (not if just one ot two, but if taken to extremes). Everyone has reacted nicely, so that is not a problem.

Asking newbies why they make such stupid mistakes, I get to realise that they were brought to Steemit with the promise they can make money. Most newbies I'm seeing lately come from 3rd world counries and they are desperate to make money immediately. They also, being young and fairly ignorant, see the obvious ways of making money, which is part of what they are told - make as many comments as you can. Wow, they think, if I can automate my comments, and follow 500 a day, I'll soon be rolling in it - these people here must be very stupid not to think of it...

Another problem: There are so many of them that posters give up and either ignore them or else flag them.

What I would love to see is a way for their comment to be'noted' so that a message is sent to them from a page where they are given the very basic information (maybe in a few languages?). If someone has been sent to that page once, and 2 days later they repeat their scam etc, then they should automatically given one flag by the site itself, when the poster redirects them for helping the newbie.

They then want to repeat 100 times a day? They soon won't have the power to do anything but stare at their own blog page, with everything greyed out. I think they will then get the message. If they respond by contacting moderator (as it is with cheetah and steemcleaners), they might be given a second chance after 3 days.

These are just ideas, attempts to find solutions that make life easier for all posters, while remaining humane and useful to the newbies. Maybe something like this is what is being worked on - I hope

As for me not making money. I see others who earn less than four cents trying to upvote the high rep posts, as an upvote from them can make a big difference. I reckon my small upvote makes almost no difference to the big fish, so I use them for helping the small ones, who appreciate my mini votes.

A wish, to end off my lengthy comment: We have Followers and Followed. I would love to have a third category: Friends. Friends should come first on my Feed and as there will not be many of them, I can remember all of them for wishing happy new year, etc.

Sort:  

I have noticed you and have seen you put real efforts in your posts. Hit me on steemit.chat (same username) I may have some ideas that I believe will help you make money :)

The first time I saw this reply of yours, I just had seconds to see it and my pc crashed; living in Africa with electricity fluctuating, plus going off suddenly, weakened the hard drive. All 1TB is gone! Not just bad sectors, but also physical damage to disk, it reports. Maybe later I'll get a technician to recover all he can.

I've finally managed to get going again, but, guess what - my chat password is on the dead HD. I tried to get the chat to allow me to change the pw, but it kept on saying'Error'. I tried to register again, under a slightly different name. Waiting to see if I'll get an email.

What is the best time? I'm presuming in the evening?

Okay, I'm on line at chat, I said hi and now will wait.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66934.09
ETH 3099.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74