Sort:  

I believe I saw a study that showed a graph with hapiness and how much money you have. It showed that past a certain point, not that high, you don't get any happier.

Yes I'm pretty sure with wealth the law of diminishing returns applies. Thanks for the reponse.

Money is power, in that it powers whatever you are at the core. If you are a miserable person then it makes you more powerful to be more miserable.

If you are a giving and peace loving person, money gives you more power to be just that.

To answer your question, if you (and by that I don't mean you personally) are fucking miserable or dangerous person, anything more than $100 is too much ;)

IF you are an amazing human being who is doing good without waiting to be rich - you should become multi-trillionaire so you can adopt countries (forget villages) for common good!

Hope this makes sense!

Agreed. I know some wealthy people who would step over their mothers dead body just for an extra few bucks, even though the money really didn't do anything for them. Some people are just totally obsessed with money and will do whatever they can to get.

The person I'm referring to had more money than any one of his friends. When we would play poker on Saturday nights he would always collect all the money to pay the pizza delivery driver, well after a few years we found out that he was taking all of our tips for delivery driver and used it to pay for his meal and didnt tip the driver at all . This guy made 150k a year and bragged about it all the time. Pure evil... at the time I was a poor student

More money does not necessarily mean more happiness in a linear fashion.

According to this article, at certain points more money does not bring that much more joy. It talks about the marginal utility of money which relates to economics (with some math) and psychology (Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs). It's worth taking a look.

That is a question every person has to ask themselves, and figure out a way to decide the amount of money they'd be happy with.

I would be happy with enough money to live a decent life, without having to worry about tomorrow. I don't like big houses or nice cars, so I would not spend my money on all kind of things. That's why I don't need a lot.

But there are people who do love those things and would need millions of dollars to invest into them. That's why I believe setting a certain amount of money as a "breaking point", a "okay, that's where I'm happy" point is way better than just trying to make more and more, sacrificing your time and health for a piece of paper.

Your a better man than I am. I love nice cars and nice houses. Its all I have to live for - well dream about at the moment. I guess I use posessions to fill other voids in my life

I'm not a better man, I just don't enjoy those things because of personal reasons. I don't like big houses because I always feel like I'll get lost, and I don't like cars because I don't really like driving.

However, I do love computers, and I would be glad to spend $5000 in a day to get the computer I want.

I guess each person loves certain material things, and it doesn't have to be just to fill some voids in your life... maybe you just like those things. I don't think there's something wrong with liking houses or cars, as long as you don't invest all your money and as long as you don't sacrifice your life for those things.

Embrace the things you like, invest time into them, but don't forget to live. :)

I love driving. When I am on the road I feel at peace. Its the only place where I feel truely relaxed. I like computers too lol. If I had the cash I be all over the new microsoft surface studio. Thanks for takibg the time out to write. Sadly I am house poor, so I cant really live by your words. But one day I may sell it and get seomthing cheaper

Keep working, keep trying and you will, eventually, get where you want to be. I know I do this every day, and it's wonderful when it actually works, and when you see money coming in, little by little. Even the smallest amount feels great, when you know your worked for it.

Hope you get where you want to be, and you have all the money you need to invest in your passion. Best of luck! :)

I am trying. I have spent easily 200 hours on here in June and only made about $300. So things arnt looking that good but ill keep trying

If you keep trying and you keep working, you will get the rewards you want. Also, you need to be a little lucky.

I was, and I got some upvotes on some posts that got me $300 in around two weeks, and I don't think I spent as much time here as you.

You just need to work, post a lot, interact with people, and wait. You will, eventually, get something. Plus, some people work 8 hours a day, really damn hard, for those $300, so we should be grateful we got that amount of money while sitting in front of our computers :)

Wow youve done more with 200 posts then I have with 1200 I give up. It's hard to keep motivated when you see that. Congratulations on your success. Im gonna be taking a long break. Lol maybe go get a real job again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62617.55
ETH 2438.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67