Woof, In A Deeper Voice ~ WOW Great Pyrenees!!

in #greatpyrenees6 years ago (edited)

DSCF0603.jpg

There are two of these magnificent creatures

living across the road from me. Their full time job is to guard a herd of alpacas 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. No holidays, no Christmas, birthday or New Year's celebrations for them.

Their affability should never be mistaken for apathy,

and their genial, gentle nature should never be mistaken for timidity or cowardice.

They have historically been used to fend off large predators

like wolves and bears with tremendous success. They have been known to be outfitted with their own armoured collar to protect their neck when doing battle with bears. More than once these dogs have died protecting their herds and have usually successfully killed the attacker as well. In death, their bodies can be found lying between the attackers and those they are loyal to protect.

But they also like cats.

DSCF0624.jpg

Their Vigilance is astounding.

In case no one told you today, you're beautiful.

Love,
Bug

Sort:  

Cool!
BIG Dogs, though, right?

Couple hundred pounds brother. No joke! Real sweethearts though.

Wow! Thats Huge! Such Dogs are really Rare! I guess! At least I haven't that huge in my life!

Awwwww so cute

OMG I want one - so lovely :)

Oh!! I just want to hug that big puppy dog!! You have it all just across the street. Does she spin the alpaca?? That would be very cool to see.

I'm not sure she spins the alpacas, I think it would be fun to watch but not entirely humane. I'll try to get some video of that for you!! (hehe) Hoping she will make some custom stuff for me :)

#### Their affability should never be mistaken for apathy, and their genial, gentle nature should never be mistaken for timidity or cowardice

I never lose. Either I win or I learn.

#### They have historically been used to fend off large predators like wolves and bears with tremendous success

I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life and that is why I succeed. Michael Jordan

They have been known to be outfitted with their own armoured collar to protect their neck when doing battle with bears

Whenever you are confronted with an opponent. Conquer him with love. Mohandas Gandhi

He who tries to conquer a bear with love will be thanked by the bear for tasting so good. TheBuqIQ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78