Jerusalem Artichokes

The Jerusalem artichokes are taller than me now (okay so maybe that is not much of an accomplishment because at my peak height I remain 5'2") but they're doing extremely well. Second year growing them - looking forward to beautiful blooms in about a month or so and nice privacy plant Can't wait till harvest. And @mericanhomestead - you were RIGHT of course when you told me they would be back. I was afraid that they might now be back as I harvested what I thought were all the tubers. I was wrong.
They came back super strong!!

Jerusalem artichokes are considered to be invasive plants by some but as far as I am concerned their benefits far outweigh any disadvantages. They are multi purpose - the provide a beautiful privacy screen with their amazing height and stunning blooms, you can harvest and eat the tubers (I add them to mashed potato dishes) and they can even provide fuel. So if you are considering the amazing homesteading lifestyle, please check out the wonders of Jerusalem artichokes!

JerusalemArtichoke2.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @warnerhomestead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @warnerhomestead! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05