Mucho Gracias!

in #gratitude7 years ago

With my limited abilities in Spanish... I try and be very gracious. When I don't have anything else to say... why not? So I say "Mucho Gracias" quite a bit. Needless to say some have mentioned this to me... "You've got allot of gratitude!" Earning me the unofficial title of "Mr. Mucho Gracias."

I've always been a fan of being thankful. As a child growing up in the Catholic faith. I was encouraged to pray before bed... I didn't like it much but I did see value and got comfort being grateful for what I had.

In regard to holidays, I've pretty much been lacking in support of government mandated holidays even before I knew what Anarchism, Voluntaryism or Libertarianism was. I liked the fact I got out of school but I didn't really see the point of getting all hyped up and then eventually being disappointed and then having to deal with people in bad moods the days, weeks or even months after..

But of all the holidays Thanksgiving seemed to be the easiest to deal with. My mother still loves to cook and always spent the days before busily baking and cooking. Cookies, pies, cakes, candy...turkey and ham, sweet potatoes (which I regret not liking as a child), stuffing, mash potatoes and homemade gravy... I'm feeling stuffed just thinking about it all. Then the week after eating left overs... Not to mention one of the few events where I'd see and connect with my larger family. Getting the updates on what people are doing in their lives. The colors of Fall, the day long football on TV, moving onto the Winter wardrobe (I had some wonderful wool socks) all seem to be some of the thoughts that cross my mind when thinking of Thanksgiving.

But still for me the most important is being thankful... something we can do every day. But as an annual event, it's a review of the past years events and what stands out.

Despite all the trouble and hardship we've faced in the past few months, I'm very thankful for the life I have. The friends and community I have is something I've searched a lifetime for. The people I choose to work together with. Where I live. My lovely partner. I'm so grateful I've been able to realize so many of my dreams.

But this year in particular has been one where I've had to ask for help in a dire situation and got it... that to me is what I'm most grateful for.

For those who answered my call... my most sincere and warmest appreciation! Mucho Mucho Gracias!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46