The 👀have it!

in #gratitude7 years ago (edited)

image

Dry Eyes?

I used to wake up with painfully dry eyes. Dropping wetting solution in 2-3x/day didn't help much.

Here's what I did:

Diet Changes

I can't say for sure that cutting out sugar and lowering carbs helped my eyes, but these foods contributed to my pre-diabetic state. Blurry vision and diabetes are connected: my eyeglasses/contacts needed to double in strength when I was experiencing such dry eyes and eating crap.

Another change I made was to up my levels of good fats. I thought I was doing really well in this category using olive oil and Kerry Gold butter as much as I did. But I didn't realize that heating olive oil and butter, like I did so often, really changed the quality of the oil - it became a bad, oxidated fat.

So, I began to eat fat from salmon, supplement with krill oil, and enjoy the fat of grass-fed, pastured cows, bison, and pigs. I feel this significantly added a natural lubricant to my valued vision.

Finally, staying hydrated, both drinking water and humidifying the dry winter air - well that was something I always did, so it alone didn't factor into no-more-dry-eyes.

20-20 every 20 minutes

I had heard that giving your eyes a break really helped your eyesight, but I never bothered to do it.

It turns out it’s not just good for easing eye strain, it can help combat dry eyes too. Every twenty minutes, look at something twenty feet away from you, for twenty seconds.

...Until my itchy, dry eyes became a problem. Now, I try to look at some beautiful part of nature, and double up on my gratitude at the same time.

And, I throw in some eye exercises too. We are so focused on the screen right in front of us that our eyes barely move anymore. But they have muscles that need to be stretched so the don't atrophy.

Blink More

I use my computer a lot! And, as a result, I don't blink as often - neither do you if you are on screens for hours. While Computer Vision Syndrome mostly affects people over 40, everyone blinks 66% less or incompletely when on a screen.

Light Therapy

I know blue light - at night - screws up my sleep, so I wear amber glasses when the sun goes down, and I lower the brightness on my devices.

Every day, I use my REDjuvenator red light therapy on my face (eyes open is safe!) to help my cells regenerate. I noticed how my skin improved and my eyesight sharpened.

image

I still need my glasses, but my prescription hasn't changed in years!


If you suffer from the sand in your eyes feeling, I hope my experience will be helpful for you.

PS - I accidentally posted this in "gratitude" instead of "health." And though I changed the tags, I can't figure out how to change the category. Please reply with helpful tips!

Image1 labeled for reuse
Image2 @mhrose

Sort:  

Wow fantastic pictures thank you for the tip!

Beep beep. Hi @inhale!
You have used tip! in your comment - that`s my magic word for sending tips ;)
Click here if you wish to learn more!

Great blog!!! An interesting fact- Dry eyes due to LASIK surgery is among highest cause of depression and suicide in the field of eye surgery|? I am working on Digital eye strain syndrome next. I hope you will enjoy it.

Yes. I forgot to mention lasik as the largest cause of dry eyes.

I wasn't aware of its connection to depression and suicide, but am not surprised.

I am working on an article about sun light and blue light. Seems we may meet again

Congratulations @mhrose! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55