Thank you steemians for giving me perspective today

in #gratitude7 years ago (edited)

I've spent most of my day in a place full of people some of whom I have lost trust in and respect for recently. I honestly don't know who I can trust any more in my daily face to face dealings with other people. Usually I have a pretty good feeling for what a person's true motives and intentions are but lately I feel like I don't know who my friends in this place really are. There are a few who I still like and trust but that list is growing shorter by the day.

I don't have a way out of this situation in the near future and Monday usually hits me like a ton of bricks. Today has been no different. I try my best to not let what I do and what I go through Monday through Friday define my life but it's getting harder and harder for me to just make it through the day and the week lately.

When I have had short breaks today I've checked my esteem feed and been happy to see so much positivity here and people from all over the world who share a common vision and goals and who are mostly supportive of others. Honestly it's given me some hope for humanity and perspective because it's a stark contrast to the mentally toxic environment where I spend most of my days.

I know this is a lot different than the material I usually post but I felt I needed to open up and thank those of you whose posts have inspired me and reminded me that there is more to life than what we do for a living.

So thank you all for taking the time to contribute to this community in a positive way. Between texting with my wife and reading posts here from time to time I'm going to get through this day and eventually get through another week.

Right now I'm sitting in my car taking my lunch break and reflecting on the good things in my life. Im going to try to bring some of the small bit of happiness I've found in the past half hour back into work with me and hopefully I can just do my work the rest of the day without being dragged into the ugly game of corporate politics.

Hope you are all having a good day.

Sort:  

@cryptokeepr amazingly honest post! I came across your blog through an EOS purchasing tutorial and I am very glad that I did now!

Upvoted and followed!

Let me know what you think of my new series, Crypto Nights, latest episode is on my blog :)

Alex

Whew EOS is a treacherous topic on this site! It shouldn't be and I won't go into why it has been recently and who is involved but there's been some flag wars over it and I'll leave it at that.

Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed reading my post and I'm gonna check out your blog as well.

care to email me further? [email protected]

Would be good for us to discuss a possible collab on a future episode too...

Steemit has gathered the tired. The people I have met here have given me the inkling of a hope I thought I had lost. Everything (almost) in this world feels harsh and wrong. I am not a people person, but it is relationships and soul connections that get me through the day.

You're right there's a lot of people here who are trying to make a better life and in many cases it's because they're fed up with the same things I've talked about in this post. Some have made it, some are well into the process, and some are just starting (I fall into the last category), but we're all trying to find something better than the traditional day to day grind that most of us grew being told was "the American dream" or "what we should do when we grow up".

As far as people are concerned, deep down I'm not really a people person either. I have a few people in my life that I'm very close to and others I keep at a certain distance because I've come across so many toxic people in my life. I have the ability to get along with just about anyone though and I'm usually very friendly with people. I am also the type of person who will go out of my way to help others. I really do try to stay on everyone's good side and it's really frustrating when people purposefully do things for the sake of pissing other people off. That's just the tip of the iceberg as far as my work situation is concerned but it's what was on my mind today.

I agree that there's a lot going wrong in this world and I really can't figure out if the world is becoming a worse place, my perception is changing, or things have always been the way they are and I'm just now starting to notice it. But I digress.

Hope you have a good week :)

❤️❤️❤️

@cryptokeepr I agree with you that the STEEMIT community has lots of people contributing to it, and this will help to achieving mainstream for all cryptocurrency. Thanks for sharing this with us. Just upvoted. @gold84

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82