You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Stefan Molyneux Changed My Life

in #gratitude8 years ago (edited)

I was a hardcore leftist. I read Noam Chomsky's stuff, I had the book "An Anarchist FAQ" (which was written to explain why Anarcho-Capitalism is BS. Although I had never heard of this "oxymoron")
I was against the State and against Capitalism. "Free Trade" agreements and "private" corporations were destroying the world and causing tremendous suffering. Pretty simple. Only zombies, drones and sheeple couldn't see it. I had it all figured out!

Then I started watching this guy's videos. I cheered him on as he trashed the iraq war and the government and the FED. Go baldy! But then he mentioned the market in a non-pejorative way.... WTF? This guy was smart and all of a sudden dumb?
Luckily Richard Dawkins got to me pretty young and I had developed good critical thinking skills, which, when added to my already pretty open mind was great when it came to ideas. So I heard him out and gave him a chance to explain himself. I watched everything I could of his on YouTube and downloaded his podcast. I think I listened to the first 400 (at 2x speed).

HOLY SHIT! I felt like neo waking up in a tub of pink jelly looking right and left.
This dude was my red pill. He really got to my leftist brain. That's what lead me to Austrian economics, then finance, then Bitcoin, then BitShares.
Without that guy I might still be seriously deficient in my worldview.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39