THE KINDNESS OF STRANGERS

in #gratitude6 years ago

Goats 1.JPG

READ SOME REALLY AMAZING NEWS!!!! After a rather depressing earlier post, what better pick-me-up than some incredible - goat - news! As some of you may know, I am not just a little bit obsessed with goats. Mine are my four legged children. Sadly because of the drought my 60 are now 6. I've had to sell the majority, which also means that a good portion of our homesteading livelihood has also disappeared with the rains. Okay, so that is depressing and I promised amazing news.... Keep reading!

IMG_1914.JPG

Earlier this year I ran a raffle to raise funds for the winter feed for my precious few goats. I was blown away by the response. Last week I started another raffle. Once again I am touched by the compassion and generosity of strangers. The economy in South Africa is not good. And others in the country are also affected by the adverse weather. But people I've never met are buying tickets to help my goats. I have also had one or two making small donations, and asking for no prize, in return. I am speechless at the open hand of so many.

RAFFLE.jpg

Over this weekend we were amazed when the rain started. It was a mere 6ml but the thirsty land has sucked it up. Every drop counts and hopefully the water level in our boerholes will increase. We've applied numerous times to the government for drought relief. And been denied. As have most farmers. Then I was contacted by a private person who is part of a drought relief drive to raise funds and food to bring to our area. Last week a British woman, living in America, came to interview us. She is part of a research group investigating the drought riddled areas, and trying to find solutions. I don't know that this will physically feed our livestock but at least people are aware and active. She asked us if we would consider, or be forced to sell. My husband answered that we had considered it. However the reality is that we would need to sell because of the drought, but who would by a homestead "because of the drought". It is a quandary we are in. And yet we are still here!

IMG_2605.JPG

Later that day we received video footage that is going viral. Truckloads of food have arrived in the area for the desperate farmers for their animals. We are blown away by the generosity of our fellow South African farmers. How grateful we are that, though we personally may not benefit, there are many farms and homesteads that are receiving the life giving necessities. A thank you simply doesn't seem enough.

IMG_2527.JPG

Sort:  

Congrats you won the daily Gogreenbuddy upvote worth roughly 50 cents! Keep writing like this and you will keep winning!

Yay! On behalf of my goats, I thank you @gogreenbuddy!

Such a blessing, It is amazing what generosity you will find during these times. I pray for rain and relief for you and your livestock @buckaroo. I know how much you love your goats. I hope you are able to restore your flocks soon

The generosity has amazed me @birdsinparadise. I hope soon we can restore our flocks.

I love this! Your last picture really captures a special bond between you and your four legged child. May all that you need continue to manifest in your lives ✌️

Yes, that's Emma. She's a human disguised as a goat. Such a character and very attached to me. She has always been my favourite.

I often think most animals we bond with act more human than many humans do. It’s a beautiful picture of you and Emma.

Glad to hear the good news. I never heard about your raffle. Was it on Steemit or in your town? Oh, and the precious rain. May it be the end of the drought and may you flourish once again on your homestead.

No I ran the raffle only in South Africa. It is running off my FB page; Goshna. I would be too nervous to run one internationally (or even on Steemit). Our situation in SA is such that any prizes would disappear into the system as soon as I had sent them off.

howdy there buckaroo! wow this is indeed an encouraging post! and you even got a little bit of rain to slow the dryness. thank God for good people!

May it rain soon. And bless the generosity of strangers.

Bless you and your goat babies too. The reality of being responsible for the lives of so many animals is truly beyond my comprehension.
What I can relate to is how all animals are like children helpless and dependant.
I will be keeping you and your whole area in my thoughts. I hope you get everything you need soon especially for the sake of the animals.

Thank you @headchange. One only grasps the enormity of the responsibilities during times like this. And they are so trusting like children. How can I keep selling just because there's a drought? It's been a really difficult and sad decision for me to downscale so radically. But at least I still have my few girls! And soon babies!!

Oh lucky you! congratulations! I hope things will turn around so you can get back going again. Will definitely be keeping you your baby's and the whole area in my thoughts.

very touching @buckaroo, so happy to read this good news too, I think that your goats were sent away to the muslims community, because we will celebrate the Eid al Adh on wednesday (but some contries celebrated it today, tuesday) and I hope that the 6 goats will soon become 60 or more later. so proud of strangers or organization who has helped out the homesteader too, that's why i believe that humanangel is everywhere.

Sorry, I don't understand @cicisaja (unless you're making a joke) My goats are dairy goats and I would never sell them to someone who would want to eat them! I screen everyone before I agree to sell my goats. The new owners are usually homesteaders who want small pet goats for milk or cheese. And, of course, to clean up. But mostly to be pets

Oohh.. please accept my apologize @buckaroo, I've made a wrong interpretation😊. Dairy goats not allowed to be sacrifice too unless it doesn't productive anymore. When you have 60 dairy goats, do you milking them manually?

No problem. I was milking by hand. Then my husband bought me a milking machine. I miss the one on one time which only happens with manual milking. But my hands are happy to rather use the milking machine!

Well.. no wonder 😉 you're good on commenting too.. seems like the fingers missing the "milking time" .. now this is a joke 😊

We continue to pray for South African farmers.

Thank you @apanamamama! 8ml of rain over the last couple days. May this mean the end of the drought

I have been hearing a lot about what is going on over there and you all are in our thoughts and prayers. I am glad exposure is being given to the situation and that help is starting to come into the area.

I really enjoyed your photos especially the last one with the scenery in the background. Great Job!

Thank you so much @knowledge-seeker. Did you read my post (When death comes to your borders)? From just over a week ago. It is really horrifying and scary what is happening here. I hope that it'll get more international cover.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56849.09
ETH 2508.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32