It's Christmas Eve and I'm feeling SO incredibly grateful

Our daughters are all cozy and tucked in, greatly anticipating Christmas morning. @jasonrussell and I are relaxing while we wait to make absolutely certain that the girls are asleep before we set out the gifts, so I thought I would share a little bit about our weekend while we wait. I am going to do a bit of boasting in this post because I am so very thankful for all of the blessings in my life. But please read to the end to give me suggestions on how to help those in need.

IMG_0103.JPG
It's very cold outside, but the fire is burning bright, and we are thankful to be sheltered and warm in our home

My birthday is on Christmas Day, so I have the privilege of having the day off work to spend with my family every year. However, it can be difficult to celebrate with friends because of the holiday. Birthday celebrations are very important in our circle of family and friends, so my amazing loved ones arranged a surprise birthday party for me! I was so flattered and beyond surprised! My sister @jessicalayman started planning with @jasonrussell and so many of our friends joined in to make sure my birthday was special. @kayladenise and @johnbutler hosted the party at their house, and @juju88 made sure I was distracted ;)

IMG_9021.JPG
Look at banner! Haha...If any of you out there are fans of the show "Arrested Development", you'll understand what I'm talking about ;)

IMG_9016.JPG
My sister made some delicious spaghetti for dinner!

IMG_9017.JPG

IMG_9019.JPG
My niece made cupcakes and sent them for the party

IMG_9020.JPG

They also spent time putting together a picture slideshow of some great memories, and that made me tear up a bit because they know how much I cherish photographs and memories! There were acoustic instruments all over the place, and everyone played and sang together, and my heart felt so full!

IMG_9022.JPG
I didn't take many pictures because I was busy having fun, but here's a blurry shot of @johnbutler, @rockchickjen, @hangrydwarf and their boy Jaiden. There were a lot of Steemians there, and these guys even rocked an #openmic entry that I recorded on my phone. I need to get it to them soon!

IMG_0113.JPG
One of my sweet best friends @kayla.denise got me this gift set which I will definitely put to good use!

IMG_0114.JPG
And my life-long friend @adrianecastaneda got my this super cool Himalayan salt lamp!

Because my in-laws kept our daughters last night, we got to sleep in late today (Which was amazing because I have been working like crazy lately!) When they got home, we decided to spend the afternoon/evening baking and making a delicious Christmas Eve dinner.

IMG_0098.JPG
On the menu tonight: Pan-seared steak, salad and mashed potatoes with brown gravy

IMG_0102.JPG
The girls and I baked chocolate chip cookies for Santa (and for Christmas goodies!) We like our cookies soft and chewy, so I always use my mama's trick by replacing the granulated sugar with vanilla pudding mix.

IMG_0106.JPG
We also prepared a breakfast casserole for the morning, so all we have to do is pop it in the oven for a few minutes and breakfast is served!

There are many variations on this Cheesy Hashbrown Breakfast Casserole, but I usually just cook like my mom taught me: A little of this, and a little of that. From the photos, it just looks like a ton of cheese! But I use chopped turkey ham, shredded hashbrowns, chopped peppers and onions, cream of mushroom soup, sour cream, and of course: Cheese!

IMG_0120.JPG
The girls sat out snacks for Santa and his reindeer ;)

To conclude this post, I have so much to be thankful for and I want to find a way to give back to the community through Steemit. This time last year, I was at an all-time low...physically and mentally. Although I had my family by my side, I was recovering from a heart surgery and my anxiety and depression were in full force. I have seen so many acts of kindness on Steemit, and I would like to give back to the community, even if it's just a small amount. I know that so many people out there are feeling lonely, cold, hungry, or depressed at this time of year. If you know of someone that could use a little holiday cheer, please drop a comment here or if you'd like to be more discreet, shoot me a message on Discord. (melodyrussell)

Merry Christmas to those of you that observe the holiday and happy, positive thoughts to everyone else out there, no matter how you spend this time of year. Thank you to the people of Steemit for being such an uplifting and positive factor in my life.

All my love,

Mel

Sort:  

I absolutely understand how you're feeling, I feel that way too! This year's Christmas was magical in many ways, because at least for one night everyone in my family put their problems aside and focused on being grateful for the good things instead.
There are so many ways of giving back to the world, the first thing that comes to my mind is that you could give away goods for the homeless this time of the year, it's cold, and there are many people praying for some warmth, could be a jacket, a blanket, or warm soup. You can also donate to a specific cause and make someone's Christmas the happiest; I know someone who has a gofundme page if you're thinking about that. You can write a letter for someone you know is having a rough time to help them feel better, or write letters for anyone you think deserves a smile on these holidays. I hope you have a wonderful week and a very happy new year! And happy birthday!

I’m glad to hear that you all were able to put your problems aside and focus on the positive things! Thank you so much for your suggestions. Our family is so grateful for everything we have and we realize that there are so many that are less fortunate. I’ve been cleaning and organizing with my daughters all day and we decided to donate to a local organization that helps victims of domestic abuse/violence. Thanks for the birthday wishes and I hope you had a wonderful Christmas! :)

Happy Birthday beautiful! I'm so happy you had a great time! Merry Christmas to you and your awesome family!

I had an amazing time thanks to all of you guys! Love you all! <3

Happy Birthday and Merry Christmas.
Nice feast you guys cooked up for #beautifulsunday

Thank you! <3 It was so nice to be at home instead of at work on Christmas Eve and we enjoyed every bit of it! :)

Happy Birthday and Merry Christmas! You are doubly blessed! Enjoy your day.

I am very blessed! Happy holidays to you and yours @cecicastor! <3

that looks delicious , you guys seem to ready for christmas , merry christmas to you all

Thanks @joendegz! Happy holidays!

Thanks for reading :)

awesome post, Mel...thanks for all the cool details & pictures...
we are truly blessed!...for sure...

Thanks Caleb! We certainly are! :)

Hello...
...............................🌟
.............................o🌕o
............................🌲o🌲
...........................🌜🌲🌛
.........................🌞o🔅o🌞
......................o💡o🌲o💡o
.....................o❄oo✳oo❄o
..................💮oo💖oo💮oo💖
................o🌟oo🎋oo🎋oo🌟o
..............🌲oo🎆oo🌟oo🎆oo🌲
............o💫oo💖oo🎉oo💖oo💫o
..........💖oo💫oo🔅oo🔅oo💫oo💖
........o🍭oo🔖oo🌲oo🌲oo🔖oo🍭o
.......MERRY X-MAS TO ALL FRIENDS!!!
.................................🌌
.................................🌌

Happy Birthday and Merry Christmas LOL

Thanks! Merry belated Christmas to you and yours and Happy New Year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51