The smells and tastes of childhood

in #gratefulvibes6 years ago (edited)

Childhood is the most beautiful part of human life, you will agree. But what reminds us of that period? Memories are very partial. The fact is that all our senses trigger a time machine that brings us back to the past. Fragrances, tastes, touches, melodies, sounds, colors... return images, experiences, emotions.

A delicious meal was always cooked in my house - the fish soup of my father, my mother's rolls or my brother's pizza.

But the special feeling connects me to my grandmother. She kneaded fantastic dough, warm and soft, salty or sweet, in many shapes and different sizes - cakes, pies, rolls, braids. In that she enjoyed. It's like working with flour and dough, restoring the balance to her very hard life. She was suffering from Parkinson's disease, so dough helped her to calm her hands, and her soul.

IMG_20171210_172129.jpg

For me, the most magic moment was when she was made domestic pie crust. It was amazing how the dough can so easily and quickly become thin and elastic.
I enjoyed tugging pie crust with her. She had a habit of giving me a piece of dough. From that little piece of the dough I made a small pie "a pie child". I'm making big pies today :)

IMG_20171210_162546 (1).jpg

I promised myself that I will learn to make pie crust, just like her. Although we live fast and all finished products are available to us, the smell and taste of homemade pie from the oven is irreplaceable. Of course, my pies are not like hers, and it will never be. In any case, my family always looks forward to these pies - with cheese, cabbage or potatoes, it does not matter.

IMG_20171210_171900 (1).jpg

I am very grateful to her for all the wonderful moments that we spent together, for the incredible stories and fairy tales she told me before bedtime, for all the power of will, her energy and smile, despite the difficult moments that followed her throughout her whole life, and, of course, for all the pies we made together.

Thanks @paradise-found on a blog #gratefulvibes, that motivates us to think and write about what is really important in life.

If you want to know how to make pie with domestic pie crust: the recipe and procedure

Sort:  

I bet it is delicius :)

Thank you for bring it here - my mouth is so wet now, I need to make it, and eat it.

The post of yours brought me a big smile - thank you.

Have a beautiful day :).

Peter.

Thank you @abc.love.steemit. I'm glad you like my post and my pie:) Greeting!

Thank you @bonggita! :) Glad you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67962.69
ETH 3852.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66