[Gratefulvibes #16] I'm Grateful for the Example of Faithfulness of My Friend's Family

in #gratefulvibes7 years ago

Today I went to a funeral.

I have a friend whose family has been taking care of her father for five years in their home.

She and her family have gone to extraordinary lengths to provide and care for him. They remodeled his house, stayed with him, moved families around.

Elderly care is not easy. It's a sacrifice.

This man was dealing with a variety of health conditions which left him incapacitated, mentally and physically. The family had to make difficult decisions, including whether or not to put him in assisted living. It wasn't until he lost the ability to move his legs that they decided he needed professional help. He remained there for three months and died unexpectedly in his sleep while taking a morning nap.

The shock of this sudden loss was noticeable.

When someone is the center of your life and you alter your entire life for the sake of that person, having him gone is almost like a numbing experience. It's unthinkable that they're gone. One moment you're talking with him about your day, about the weather or whatever and the next moment he's gone.

You find yourself talking about him in the past tense. It goes from "He is a good man" to "He was a good man".

I'm Grateful for the Faithfulness of Families

It's something that is becoming lost in our modern age. Families taking care of the elderly. It's because they can be difficult and ungrateful. But it doesn't matter. Ultimately, it's the job of families to care for their elders through whatever difficulties they experience.

Life is precious, especially when we are helpless.

I am grateful for families that make sacrifices for their elderly, families who are willing to show them great respect and love by taking care of them, themselves. Sometimes that includes decisions that involve professional care as a last resort, but it is not relied upon as an "out".

There is much to see and learn at a funeral.

I've observed that family who care for the elderly and are faithful to the end through difficult times have a different reaction at the funeral than those who remained distant through the trials. In those were are involved, I see sadness, surprise, shock and relief. In those who were distant and not involved, I see devastation and regret.

The House of Lamentation

The heart of the wise is in the house of lamentation,
while the heart the fool is in the house of rejoicing.
Ecclesiastes 7:4

I used to think the "house of lamentation" was a home mourning the death of a family member, but I've come to believe it's something else entirely.

I believe a house of lamenting is a home where the family is lamenting and mourning the declining condition of their own, including their elders.

When a respected father looses his ability to think and speak and walk it is something to lament, to mourn. It's not pleasant. It is not a house of rejoicing. But it is right and good to be in the house of mourning and lamentation, helping the elderly through difficult times. That is where the hearts of the wise can be found. It is the house of a faithful family.

Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleans your hands sinners and purify your hearts double-minded. Be wretched and mourn and lament. Let your laughter be converted into mourning and joy into dejection. Be humbled then in the sight of YHVH and He shall exult you. James 4:8-10

May the hearts of the wise be exulted in the Day of YHVH, for their faithfulness to their family through the difficult times, through lamenting and mourning.

Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.

@ironshield


This is day 16 of 70 of the #gratefulvibes challenge by @paradise-found.
https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@paradise-found/2udu6y-gratefulvibes-community-challenge-day-16-attitude-of-gratitude

Sort:  

Sorry for your friends loss. Both my mother and brother passed in the last 4 years. I can relate.
Wonderful post my friend! This post is in the spot light in my #gratefulvibes challenge post today!! Thank you so much for your participation!!

Thank you. It's never an easy thing to loose someone you love. Thank you for the #gratefulvibes challenge, it is keeping me extra grateful everyday. @ironshield

I am so sorry for your friends loss. Funerals are always hard. I have been to many of them. I lost my Mother when I was 17 years old. My Father passed when I was 24 years old. My point is that friends and other family members can be a great support to the people who have lost a family member.

I worked as a C.N.A for over 30 years at a Nursing facilities and have been with plenty of people when it was time to leave this earth. Some just wanted their hand held others wanted to be prayed with. And others just wanted to know they were not alone. God wants us to be present in peoples lives and to be servants to each other. Just be there for your friend weather it is to talk or a shoulder to cry on or just sit quietly with them.

Thank you for your time working at a Nursing facility. I know that this man was well taken care of by the reaction of close family. They were sad, but also relieved. There is always a grieving period and an adjustment time, but they seemed to be doing fairly well. @ironshield

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 36.0% @steemdrive upgoat, thanks to @paradise-found
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

This is really very deep @ironshield. Really we learn alot about life from funerals. The way people behave during a funeral can give you an idea of how close they were to the person.

I agree with you. Its the duty of families to take care of the elderly and sick among them. This helps to foster unity, love, peace. And even the younger ones can learn that life is about sacrifice too.

Thanks for sharing! Sorry for the loss. May his soul rest in peace!

#hug-challenge!

Thank you for a deeply honest post that rings true for so many of us that make family the center of our lives. Our purpose here IMO is to love and care for for one another. No matter what. So sorry for your losses.🐓🐓

Thank you for reading this post. It's not easy to take care of family, but it is what is right. @ironshield

I am so sorry for your friends loss, and yours too. When family and friends hurt, we do too. The sadness and the sense of relief we feel when we have been caring for a loved one can't not be readily explained to those who not experienced this first hand. Funerals say so much about the living. It is interesting to watch those who cared and those that are making an appearance for the sake of the appearance, of being seen.

Funerals say so much about the living.

They bear witness of the relationship they had with the deceased. @ironshield

Great post man! Thanks for sharing

Thank you. My friend and her family seem to be doing well, it's a new chapter in their life story. @ironshield

We always have something to be thankful for but the gift of life is the greatest gift.
Sorry for the loss of your friend

Yes, life is precious. @ironshield

I love that you are doing this every day and finding things to feel grateful for even in situations that perhaps one wouldn't immediately see reasons to be grateful. I hope that I can be there for my parents if they ever needed me to care for them.

When I got home from the funeral, I asked my wife "What is there to be grateful for at a funeral?" Then I told myself to observe the families and this is what I saw. @ironshield

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77