[Grateful Vibes #24] I'm Grateful for Some Extra Time

in #gratefulvibes6 years ago

We are expecting another baby very soon.

The due date was last Sunday (11/12), but no baby yet. We don't know too much about this baby. We don't know his/her gender. We don't know his/her name. We don't know this baby's personality.

We do know that the baby healthy. And wants out, but is taking his/her time. We know the baby is loved. We know that the baby's parents are looking forward to meeting him/her. We know this baby is antsy, moving around a lot.

And we think this baby is ticklish.

We are grateful for a few more days to prepare.

Our family is getting over a nasty cold and we are just now recovering. We were a little worried that the baby would come while all the baby's sisters were snotting all over the place. We do not want a sick little new born.

But now we are recovering and feeling much better. And my wife is feeling ready. We are feeling more prepared.

The Checklist

Homebirth takes some preparing.

  • Garden and landscaping are settled in for the winter
  • The pool is ready to inflate
  • We have the air compressor ready
  • We have a hose to fill up the pool
  • We have the correct adapter for the hose
  • Our freezer is full of ice
  • Our birth kit is ready and waiting.
  • The house is cleaned, especially our 'birthing center' bedroom
  • Food is in the freezer (dairy free)
  • Refrigerator is full (dairy free)
  • Raspberry and Fennel tea ready
  • Laundry is all caught up
  • Sheets and bedding are washed
  • List of people to contact when labor begins
  • Co-sleeper is ready and waiting
  • Baby Diapers ready
  • Baby cloths are washed and ready
  • Mamma and Daddy are ready

This checklist looks much better than it did week ago.

I've been catching my wife 'nesting' as she finds last minute projects to complete before she's confined to bed for a while. What a surprise to find your very pregnant wife painting the door and window casings. They look beautiful by the way.

And maybe i'm nesting a little when I feel compelled to finally clean that cobweb out of the corner of our family room.

This is a photo from June 2014 when our second baby arrived.

The joy we look forward to is after the baby is born.

When a woman is giving birth, she has sorrow because her hour has come, but when she has delivered the baby, she no longer remembers the anguish, for joy that a human being has been born into the world. John 16:21

We hare happy to have a few more days before my wife's 'hour has come', but when it does come we have something wonderful coming soon. The joy that a new human being has been born into the world. And what a miracle that always is. Bless the Most High YHVH, Creator of the Universe.

@ironshield


This is 24 of 70 of the #gratefulvibes challenge by @paradise-found.

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@paradise-found/gratefulvibes-community-challenge-day-24-attitude-of-gratitude

Sort:  

This is awesome!! I'm even tingling with excitement!!
I'm guessing a boy, and will be awaiting the result!!
God bless you my friend!! Praying for all to go perfectly!!

Certainly something to be grateful for! I'm guessing boy too, but I haven't been right yet. Thank you for your prayers! @ironshield

Thank you for the @buildawhale upvote, it's greatly appreciated! @ironshield

Oh how exciting!! A home birth sounds neat too. Congratulations to you both!! I'm going to guess another girl. :)

Thank you. Home births are wonderful. Right after the baby is born, mamma gets to take an herbal bath with the newborn and we get a chance to get to know our new little one. It's my favorite part. @ironshield

(my wife thinks it's a girl.... I think it's a boy. I've been wrong before.) @ironshield

Yeah, I'm guessing girl too. Just can't imagine a boy! But Ben is pretty convinced it's a boy. He has agreed to pick out a girls' name so I don't name all our children since he's been sure the last two are boys and hasn't wanted to pick out a girl name. I don't think he has a middle name yet, so if it is a girl the name will be a surprise to me too!

This is exciting for you and your family. What a beautiful surprise it will be when you finally meet your new son or daughter. Not know just increases the excitement. You are already. Just need to wait until he/she arrives.

Yes, we are ready. Any day now. I can feel the excitement around the house increasing as we get closer. @ironshield

I keep finding new projects to do so I can tell myself, "if nothing is going on tomorrow, I'll work on xyz." It makes waiting a lot easier.

This is really awesome @ironshield. You are having a baby. Is she a girl? or Is he a boy? Well doesn't really matter eventually. Children are sources of joy and happiness.

Labour could really come at any moment from now but the joys that follow are boundless. Cheers man to a new addition to your family!

#Hug-Challenge!

Thank you, we are waiting patiently day by day. It's any day now. We're ready. @ironshield

This is really awesome as @paradise-found said. I am so excited and happy for you guys and I'm glad you got some extra time to prepare. Your wife is glowing and I hope she doesn't have a very long labor and the baby comes out easily and all of you stay happy and healthy Ameen :)

Thank you! Labor is usually about 22 hours... maybe this time it will be shorter. Either way, we're ready! @ironshield

Wow! I do not know many people that do home birth. At the very least it won't smell as bad as a recent hospital I visited .. a friend of ours recently had a baby girl! But yeah, that hospital smells like bleach.

Very happy / excited for you! Wishing you a smooth delivery~

Thank you. It's nice to have the birthing experience in a familiar place. Familiar sights, sounds and scents. We usually lower the lights, play some nice music. It really makes the whole experience way better. @ironshield

So excited for you guys and I know how it feels to wait for a baby who should have already come. My longest wait was 10 days and I WAS DONE! :) Birthing tub, herbal bath, cuddling a newborn...it all sounds familiar! I hope it goes well and you get to meet your new baby soon. Do you have names picked out and you haven't shared or you don't even have an idea? We had surprise babies for our first 3 but names picked for both genders (ended up with 2 boys and then a girl), then found out for the next two that we were expecting boys. We always had names picked but never shared them until the babies arrived. So fun! Blessings and prayers for a great delivery!!!

I've had a boy name picked out since our second... I have an idea for a girl's name. Were keeping them under wraps until the baby's born. Thank you for the blessings. We are very happy. @ironshield

Such a big responsibility but a lot of fun to name a new baby! It sticks with them for the rest of their lives. :) Looking forward to news of a birth soon!

You are truly blessed @ironshield . Congratulations to you and your spouse and wish you the best especially the coming angel! Following you :)

Thank you very much! We're looking forward to the day we can hold him/her. @ironshield

My all best wishes are with you :)

Most welcome :)

BTW by mistake you typed your own username.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81