Thank you Steemit!

in #grateful7 years ago (edited)

U5dqsbFK8cxJgMihep16cYKYJi1vzgg_1680x8400.jpg

I'd like to start by saying a big thank you, to you, the steemit community for improving my life with your generosity, friendlyness and just plain beautiful creativity!

10dd857c87.jpg

Long have I scrolled down my facebook feed only to be greeted by moronic posts about mad crazy sessions (Irish slang for getting absolutely pissed drunk), posts written in what I can call idiots language (text speak), countless selfies and just plain bitching and strived for a thought provoking article or simple yet beautiful photo.

hqdefault.jpg

Then roughly one week ago while reading an article about cryptocurrencies I read a brief description about a social media website that pays you for your creative work in steem and a link to the site.
I gave the link a click as I'd actually traded steem before and thought hmm probably another site ill click into sign up and never look at again.
Anyway I signed up and got myself a wallet and already started thinking what's going on here, hesitantly posted my first post, my introduction post, not really knowing what I was doing then started trying to get to grips with the website layout. I clumsily clicked around the site slowly getting more confident in what I was doing.

images.png

After about 2 or three hours of browsing and upvoting various interesting articles I checked into my blog which to my surprise my introduction post had 63 up votes and was earning me 43 cents, yes only cents but I was amazed by how a simple quickly put together introduction post had earned me 43 cents! Well I was amazed!

images (1).jpg

This is it I thought, this is gonna give me financial freedom, if one quickly put together post could earn me more then i thought what would some well thought out articles earn me!
So I set off thinking what could I write that would capture people attention, I tried one or two things, I wrote about drifting and cryptocurrencies 2 for my passions and then waited, excitedly checking every few minutes how much my posts were making me.

disappointment.jpg6360177440427218171513378839_disappointment-sign.jpg

Oh was I disappointed only a mere new cents on each of them! I was already dreaming of cruising around the Mediterranean on my own yacht and my dreams were crushed.

Oh I had to rethink this so looking through my pictures on my phone, I found pictures I took of different places I've visited in Ireland and Europe.
That's it I thought ill post my pictures and an article describing where they were taken!
So I set off again and finished my first post, 'Ireland in pictures' I called it, a small post but I really enjoyed writing about these pictures I'd taken and about the country I love...Ireland!

8c734fec79de11e587331179e75e396c_enjoyment-enjoyment-to-enjoyment-clipart_1300-952.jpeg

I enjoyed showing off my beautiful country so much I was already planning my next 'Ireland in pictures' post and had totally forgotten about the financial reward I was expecting before I posted it.
24 hours past and my post again only made a few cents but I didn't care I was already looking forward to my next post.
A few posts later and I was getting such nice comments about my photos, it was great, I'd found something I was genuinely passionate about and something I really enjoyed, a whole new piece of me just got revealed!

I was thinking about going off for a drive to photograph beautiful places around my area to show off, I had this feeling of excitement inside, this warm fuzzy stomach tingling that gave me a whole pile of new found energy!

43d1a72553b25ffcce97d659a3300c87.jpg

So I'd like to say a big thank you to all of you, the community of steemit that has welcomed me with open arms and not only been so nice with your comments on my posts but also brought to light a passion I never even knew I had!
I have grown as a person because of steemit and all of you!

So thank you all you amazing people!!!

images (2).jpg

All pictures taken from Google images

Sort:  

Awesome sharing your experience. It's really fun here. I've been here since August and have slowly built a great group of followers. Keep truckin'. Come to enjoy the articles and posting your interests. Don't watch the pot Steem. Enjoy the Steem, it will rise. That rising Steem! If you build it, they will come haha.

It's great I love steem it!! I shall be promoting it to all my friends

Great piece. I feel the some enthusiasm as you in something that stimulate the people to offer to others interesting information and and valuable contents.

Joining steemit is honestly one of use best things I've done in a long time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55