Will Smith - Graphite Charcoal Portrait

in #graphite7 years ago (edited)

Hi guys, wazzup?!

Being new here on Steemit, this is one of the first posts explaining my drawing content. Im still trying to learn more about this site because a lot of my friends are here as well. Well if you´re one who happens to see and read my post..... THANK YOU! Hope we could be friends here too. My name is Tim and I´m a freelance artist. I have worked previously as a digital animator and yup you heard it right! My hobby and passion is all about art. I love to draw and I have been drawing ever since I was kid who literally draws something out of my mind. I was always into something on drawing and my friends came up asking whether I could also do it to them too, like tattoo. They would say " oh that´s cool !"

Since then, drawing became a passion and during the process of growing-up, I got into arts deeper and deeper because for me it was not just a talent but the enthusiasm ... that if you work hard, you will be good at it.

WILL SMITH

Here, I will try to explain the process of Will Smith´s portrait.

I use a graphite pencil and one of my favorites which I use a lot is Steadler (brand) 3b or 4b which has a smooth tone and a bit dark effect which is really good for shading. For my paper, I bought vellum board which is really good for shading graphite pencil and really compliments my drawing as well.

Okay... I just want to share with you a bit of idea on how I worked-on with this drawing. If you are new to art or trying to learn yet, I hope I could help you somehow. Though I must admit I am not that good yet, but just wanna share swith you how I make my own style and hopefully it helps.

download (2).jpg download (1).jpg

If you notice here is an image which shows you a light to dark contrast using a graphite pencil, you see how the effect went from light to dark, learning this will help you a lot because it´s one of the basic fundamentals to be able to create portrait drawings. How to do these? It´s easy, first work from light and try to be soft and gentle at first and apply it on your paper just a smooth touch and while your going down put a bit of pressure on your shading as you go deeper that will create an illusion of light to dark with a little help of cottons and tortillions. You can make it more smooth and perfect, just apply a smooth touch and scribble it through-

images.jpg

images (1).jpg

If you don´t have tortillions, you can use cotton buds or tissue paper to create that illusion from light to dark. These is very important if you master this technique because it will help you a lot. Simply make sure your background is always smooth and clean as well. These applies on the edges, darker areas such as hairs, necks , etc.

14595828_1288515111167741_488347174584178821_n.jpg

You might have noticed the smooth transition from light to dark, that is with a bit help of cotton to make the illusion smooth, its not bad right? One more thing, try to use a pointed eraser to create that white lining effect.

I hope you learn something from me and i ll try to post more of my art and some step by step drawing on how a portrait is done.

Thank you for dropping bye and see you soon!

@gremayo

Sort:  

Awesome! Did you use grid method for this one

No, i dont use grid drawings , free hand drawing is what i prefer and my instructor before wont allow us to use grid drawing because that is like cheating and he said its not a work of art anymore like u trace it its the same

I see. The way you did the proportion is pretty amazing. Looking foward for a step-by-step process soon

thank you, are you making arts and painting too?

A bit @gremayo. Still, I am using a grid method for my portraits. Just learning to do it using free hand method. Care to give me some tips?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gremayo to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66546.31
ETH 3589.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93