Free Graphic Design

in #graphicdesign7 years ago (edited)

There is nothing more discouraging for an artist than for their work to be undervalued. Everywhere you look you see "job" postings that pay in "experience" or "exposure." "This will look great in your portfolio!" Why do we keep seeing these post? Because there are artist out there who are willing to work for "experience" or "exposure." This will look great on my resume. Do you mean that resume that you're sending in for another job that pays in experience?

When I first moved to New York, right after I finished getting my Associate's Degree in Advertising Graphic Design, I looked everywhere I could think of for a job. 90% of what I saw were listings taking advantage of artist and designers with no experience who needed a job. If you have ever lived in New York, then you know it's ridiculously expensive. And here these employers are offering "transportation stipend" or "free lunch" everyday, for a 40 hour commitment. We as artist, need to stop accepting this no to low pay for our work.
Below is a little video I made to express my frustrating as a graphic artist... I hope you enjoy.
(yes, I did the dialogue)

Sort:  

I have found the same thing. I recently became a freelance graphic designer and I am finding that you simply have to eat shit for awhile until you somehow figure out how to rise up the value chain.

A lot of the issues to me stem from clients not really appreciating what you are doing. There is a perception that simply having a copy of Photoshop is enough for the magic to suddenly come spilling out.

What compounds this problem is the internet has completely devalued the market as any clown with a pirated copy of Adobe CC can get straight to work designing third rate crap at their leisure. I think there is a way out with patience and a plan. I will let you know how mine goes!!!!

This is so true not just for designers but illustrator and even tattoo artists. Employers want you to have spent 2-4 years in time and money, then dont want to show appreciation for the commitment. Everyon is NOT an artist. Anyone can be HR though

I agree! It's any kind of artistic gig... people want you to do it for free. Friends and family members are the worst at asking for free work! lol but I guess they do that to anybody, not just artist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43