I suffered from full-on burnout & had to let all my graphic design clients go.

in #graphic6 years ago

A few years ago...

I suffered from full-on burnout & had to let all my graphic design clients go.

I got totally OVERWHELMED with work...

And my physical & mental health took such a beating, that I had to stop entirely.

I had a list of tasks which grew longer every day.

I couldn't make my clients happy, no matter what I did/said.

The non-stop "requests" & scope creep were literally killing me & my business...

...And... I saw no way OUT.

However... if I could... here are 3 things I would tell that poor soul today:

➡️ Breathe... Go for a walk/run... Snuggle with a pet... and then... Hug a loved one

➡️ Realize that it is... in fact... NOT the end of the world (Turn on the news or visit a homeless shelter to see what a hard life looks like.)

➡️ LEARN TO WORK SMARTER (Not Harder!) in your business

Whilst that experience was terrible (and terrifying) to live through...

It was the "kick in the pants" I needed to figure out HOW to work "smarter" versus "harder".

(I also started earning more, because I created processes which allowed me to take on more clients without sacrificing more of my time.)

Getting OVERWHELMED & feeling OVERWORKED in a graphic design business...

...happens more often than one would think.

(And that should absolutely not be the case!)

Once I put systems in place...

Learned what tasks & what numbers I should be focused on...

And how to properly hire & train a team...

It was a pleasure doing business again!

(Plus... I was making exponentially more!)

I was only doing what I was good at and what I enjoyed doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57774.35
ETH 2339.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44