I have officially resigned from my day job to work on my dreams: Agoric Systems

in #graphene7 years ago

This decision has been culminating for a long time, something I've known for a couple of years that I want to do. I was biding my time, building up capital, and waiting for the right moment to take the plunge. The markets have been cooperative, with the price of STEEM and BTS rising this has given me the opportunity to build a runway to survive on while we bootstrap the company.

Last week, I made the decision to resign from my full time job, so that I can start a company to aid, promote, and build towards the widespread adoption of digital assets. Now I am in the transitory period between my previous job and founding this company, working to hand off my responsibilities at Duo so that I can focus on @agoric.systems.

I'm working with @matt-a, @rahulyadav, @lovejoy, @timothy-archer, @sensei, and others in order to lay the foundation of this entity. We're really excited to dive in, and plan to work on witness infrastructure and software products that will bolster the Graphene ecosystem and help bridge the gap between the digital economy and everyday people. This community in particular has been very inspiring to us; showcasing the potential of a community that has shared values and works together to achieve bigger things than just one individual can accomplish.

Follow @agoric.systems and stay tuned for more information from us! We are running a witness on Steem and will follow up with our witness proposal shortly.

Thank you for your patronage and upvotes as we bootstrap this new entity. We would not be here, making this decision to go our own way without Steem and this amazing community. We're all very excited to starting working together, putting in all of our energy towards reconfiguring society to be an accessible and equitable, prosperous and beautiful landscape for all of the people on Earth.

quasicrystals.gif

Sort:  

IT'S OFFICIALLY ON.

Sounds like you're up to some interesting things. I look forward to seeing more. :-)

But are you saying you've made a corporation called Agoric Systems?

We have not officially incorporated any organizational structure yet. We have been exploring the landscape for incorporation and are still deciding what organizational strategy is best to achieve our vision. We are seeking legal advice in the space and doing our own research on the manner to make sure whichever path we end up taking is bulletproof.

It will be easier for us to interface with the traditional institutions of the state and collectively hold assets such as land / buildings, fiat currency, and tokens as a corporate entity. However, we do not intend to have a traditional orthodox company hierarchy / culture if we do go that route.

@matt-a and I have joked that if we are successful in seeing our vision, we'll be able to dissolve the company... ;-)

That may be a bad business model... but by then individuals may be empowered enough to interface with each other without the need to swarm into corporate hierarchies.

Wish you all the best of luck! Sounds like a great team.

Great news. Looking forward to what you can achieve!

Thank you @donkeypong. I'm hoping to put a dent into the universe!

Hi @robrigo, once again I wish you best of luck with your efforts. Funny, I just left a note on @matt-a's post offering to hire him when the time comes. That was before I read your story. It looks like you guys will be doing alright for yourselves after all. This is definitely the right time to start doing the sort of business you are starting. So good luck, and see you in Lisbon?

Congrats. I wish you guys the best of luck on this! With the awesome team of people you have, only good things could happen! I'm following along and I'm excited to see what you guys build!

Congrats @robrigo
You will be missed at Duo.

Thanks @ojaber, I'll miss working with you! Duo has such an amazing team.

"A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step"
-Lao Tzu

...and you've taken a most exquisite step =)
All blessings on your journey @robrigo!

Honorable work. Congratulations! I wish you and your people the very best in this endeavor

am hopeful your new company does well - i am following now and upvoted - best wishes -David

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.36
ETH 3407.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47