Never Taking a Moment for Granted

in #granted7 years ago

I received some very bad news that caused my heart to ache for a fellow co-worker.

I answered a call and on the other end was my other co-worker, screaming and crying.

I yelled, what’s wrong, what’s wrong and she finally calmed down long enough to speak clearly the issue at hand

When the words came forth from her quivering voice, my heart fell and tears soon started flowing, unstoppable.

Our co-worker’s 4 year old son had gotten hold of his gun and shot himself in the head.

He didn’t make it and his father, my co-worker was now jailed for reckless homicide.

We’re faced with a great loss and even with the most up beat spirit, filled with the optimism of life, it took the breath from me.

I can’t even imagine the pain my co-worker is feeling or the thoughts that’s running through his head.

His life, changed in an instance! Most of us do not consider the second, the minute, or even the next hour in life because we are so busy trying to live for the next day.

But, the next moment is not promised and living in this moment should not be taken for granted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.98
ETH 2460.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62