Possibly the Oldest Steemit Fans Say Hello to the Community!!

in #grandparents8 years ago


My grandparents, 80 & 82 years young, are in love with Steemit and may be the oldest fans of the social media platform that pays for high valued content.


I have found myself trying to tell my friends about Steemit and how I have made money on blog posts. I compare it to Facebook, they kind of get it, then I mention cryptocurrencies and their eyes gloss over. Now, I follow a lot of people on Facebook that use that platform to ‘make money’. They post blogs from their websites to gain a following so that one day the reader will buy their service or product and they can make a little cash. Sounds so silly to us in the know on Steemit!

** By the way, I officially deleted my FB app on my iphone. It's Steemit only if I'm scrolling my phone :) **

Now, I am the only person I know, besides my husband-to-be @derekareith, who is actively talking about Bitcoin, blockchains and now Steemit. Derek tells me to treat it like I was a medic on the field. Help those that are interested and acknowledge when someone doesn't want to commit the brain power it takes to learn something new, which unfortunately, feels like the majority sometimes. So I have found myself answering questions I don't feel 100% equipped to answer but I do my best, I know that the more people in the know the better. Even when that means explaining the future to my grandparents.

Meet my Grandparents

My grandparents, God I love them. We have already discussed Bitcoin and blockchains so when I brought up the social media movement that pays for high valued content on a blockchain, they amazingly were following along.  I showed them a yoga post and she saw the support and value I created and her response was,  "Oh WOW Jessie! Keep up the good work!” I asked her if she would like to make a post with me and she lovingly said yes.



So here is perhaps the oldest Steemit fans, my grandparents. Saying hello to all you in the community. Their intent, only to say hello and be part of the platform that can help change the world. Let’s keep elevating the world to greatness, one post at a time!


Namaste,


Miss Jessica

Sort:  

This is a cool article. I showed Steemit to my parents who are in their sixties as well as mentioning this article and my mom is signing up now! Loving it.

That's awesome! Be sure to share her posts with us when its up!

You should transcribe some stuff and post it for them. Im sure they have some cool stories

That's a great idea @joelinux

wonderful and hello to your parents - i just introduced my parents to it last night (86 and 85) - my mum was straight on it - interested in buying steem and bitshares ( she still plays the stockmarkets and does good) - not sure if she will post yet, but there's still time!

That is awesome, smart grandparents!

I am going to tell my grandparents about steemit as well! This site could catch on among older people.

Howdy baby bomers, how are yall, and glad to see you on the steem train!

I love them so much! They really are amazing, everyone! :)

Never told old to change the world! Nice you meet you!

So cute, right @envisionva ?! Thanks for commenting! I am excited to show my grandparents the love and support they receive from this post!

Kinda crazy how the barrier to entry is so easy with steem, as compaired to bitcoin in 2013.

thats why i put so much money into steem... soon the whole world will know about it. quicker than bitcoin and everyone will be able to use it in comparison to bitcoin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42