You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Suggestions? Grand Canyon from Arizona in Feb

That's right, you're heading into my neck of the woods! I would say that the Grand Canyon is really super great, but that Sedona is not to be underestimated. The Red Rocks are really quite special. I'm not much of a woo-woo type, but people swear that Sedona sits on the like hot bed of good magnetic vibes and feel better after staying there. Geologists have also confirmed some pretty whack ass stuff there. So there's that. Also you must eat all the Mexican food while you're here. All of it. In your mouth hole. It's da best.

As far as how to explore the grand canyon, you really have to figure out where your energy level is and how much you think you can do. Each hike is obviously going to offer different levels of experience and physicality, which I'm sure you already know. I only ever saw the Grand Canyon with my parents, so we just did a small sight seeing trip. I've never been down into it. But for those who have, I have heard the donkey trails are super awesome, and that every adventure has its pluses and minuses, but a lot just depends on you.

That being said, I would recommend driving through Oak Creek Canyon as well It's just a short distance outside of Sedona and it just breathtaking for the area. It feels like the East Coast, it's so beautiful. Also, given the time of the year, snow is a real possibility up there. Feb can tend to be a pretty weathery month here so keep that in mind too!

It truly is a great wonder of the world up there. That and Sedona really, I have never seen anything else quite like it. Arizona in general is pretty crazy. One of the few places I think where you can drive through a canyon, then the forest, then bright red rocks, then desert, then plains, then desert, then mountains, then, if you cross the border, beach. It can be hot in Phx in the summer, but it sure is beautiful.

Ok, Ill step off my AZ soap box. Have fun planning, I am sure you will enjoy whatever you decide!

Sort:  

We both really loved this whole comment... and I obviously had you in mind when writing this... so thanks heaps for taking the time, you are super amazing awesome!

We are crazy keen on Sedona but didn't know about Oak Creek Canyon so that's on the list now. We also didn't know about the prevalence of Mexican food. Obviously the Mexican food in Portland is not always great... but we've been to a couple of places in San Diego and it's been so good in our mouthholes... so now we're super looking forward to some amazing Arizona food action!

Ugh... I'm going to need 1000 cameras to capture all this natural beauty at all the angles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64876.15
ETH 3157.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55