You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend Freewrite ~ The Twenty Eight Minute, 5-Minute Freewrite ~ Prompt: "Plaid" ~ Original Story and Original Everything Else ~

I loved the lazy, hazy daze of summer. OMG! I have been singing that song for weeks now, waiting for its arrival!

I can see you loved summer too. What is not to love??? Right? We lived in Connecticut and the back 40 of us was left wooded/farmish/fun We had maples trees that we played tree tag with - it is exactly what it sounds like and apple trees, except we ate ours, then my brothers threw them at the neighborhood boys, who were slightly more upscale with the pears they threw.

There were pollywogs and skunk cabbage and wading through the swamp going turtle hunting, taking my dad's dingy to keep the booty in. Oh, yes! Summer was fun. We lived on the shores of the Long Island Sound, chasing the Atlantic just beyond. We spent more days with sand between out toes and building sand castles. We didn't even realize how good we had it. Oh, life. Wouldn't I kill for the sand littering my yard, mixing with the blades of grass?

I read your post and you had the same kind of wonderful childhood as I did and well, I had six of you for brothers. Egads! One would have been quite enough. But, you know what? We are all still as thick as thieves. We spend hours on the phone and get together whenever. If I need one or all of them, they jump on a plane and they are here.

I think these kinds of childhoods foster that kind of love. I can read and feel the love of your words. You brat. Leave Barbie alone. Or I'm telling mommy. :)

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Sort:  

Ahhh, summer is something, isn't it? And nothing quite like it when in school. When teacher let's the monkeys out. Miss that song. Don't miss being in school though. But I'm sure my BRAIN would like to be there, still getting exercise. Then again, that's what Steemit is for, the old C.C.C. Continuational Cranial Calisthenics.

You are so right, I did have a wonderful childhood, and think of myself as very fortunate in that. Many folks cannot claim the same. I'm glad yours was a hoot as well. And it sure sounds like it was. What a phenomenally fun place to grow up. Messing about in nature. I am glad I was young before all the techno stuff. We just played with sticks and dirt and crawdads and dead things and such. I suppose everything has an advantage, once way or the other. Naah. Give me 12 hours, a fort near a creek any day of the childhood week ( :

Your family does sound very special. So nice you are still all so close. That is so cool. Mine was always close, through we've gone our own way a bit more than I would like, but I still see them now and then. Harder being far far apart. And they have family of their own, and that takes a huge amount of time.
For sure there are fewer of us than your 'bunch'. Were you the only girl, in the gang of 7? I may have asked you that before, but then, remember, I'm doing my graymatter exercises here...

I can only imagine the harassment you got (all lovingly, of course) from a whole, almost volleyball team of brothers. It is an amazing thing, that brother/sister love/annoyance thing. But I was and am still very close to my sister, even though she is far away, and I don't see her as much as I'd like. But as you say, when together, you just fall right back into the old ways. It's one of the many wonders of life I greatly appreciate.

Thanks for stopping in, the tip, and always being the you that is you. Always enjoy your comments to the Nth. Have a bonny grand Tuesday, and stay cool. Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67905.30
ETH 2637.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67